Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Our three dogs loved them! I followed the recipe exactly except that I subbed a half cup of oatmeal for a half cup of flour. The dough was mixed in a Kitchen Aid mixer and was super easy to roll out and cut into shapes. After about 30 minutes of baking, I turned the oven off and left the door closed for about an hour longer and they got nice and crisp. The dough shapes were placed real close together on the baking sheet as they do shrink. One recipe made a little more than two half-sheet pans (18x13") of dog bone-shaped cookie treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made these and my picky Pekingese appears to like them. My Vet has suggested giving her pumpkin for regularity so this recipe looked like a good way to incorporate this into her diet. I used a whole can of pumpkin (very important to use pure pumpkin)and added an extra spoonful of peanut butter. I think the salt is important due to it being a chemical agent with the flour and not so much a taste factor. I did have trouble manipulating the dough so I rolled it in a log and have it in the freezer. It made a very large amount and I will work on my technique of how to slice these in a better way. The first small batch looks like mini biscuits and I am not too happy with them but Lucy is eating them so that's what's important. Coming from my kitchen and not from China is very important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So great!! My lab hasn't stopped begging for them since they came out of the oven!! Four paws WAY up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was quite easy to make and follow. I was very pleased with the smell, look and feel of the dog cookies. Of course my dogs absolutely love them. My only question is that some of the dough had bubbles in them making the cookies puffy versus flat. Is that normal or could I have done something different to avoid this? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Dogs LOVE these homemade treats.....easy to make and fun! I use cookies cutter of different shapes for each holiday. What a treat for out Bestfriends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tried three different dog treat recipes. Dogs liked these the best. Not really sure why. I assumed they would have liked the peanut butter or beef/garlic recipes I tried. But they were the most excited and motivated (training) with these. A cinch to make. Took others' advise and used 1 c pumpkin and 1t cinnamon. I also rolled mine super-thin with a pasta maker and cut them into tiny training-sized treats. Baked 20 minutes. They sort of proofed into a cracker texture. Very affordable, easy, low calorie, and no garlic smell in top of dog breath. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My husky/lab cross, Mya, LOVES these cookies. They are so easy and inexpensive to make! Instead of whole wheat flour, I used brown rice flour, as it is easier for dogs to digest. I used the suggestions in other reviews and used about 3/4 cup of pumpkin and 3 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter. I started out using my hand mixer, and then kneaded the dough with my hands at the end. I have made the cookies both by rolling them into little tubes (icebox cookie style) and by rolling the dough flat and using cookie cutters to cut out shapes. Both turned out great. I actually found it easier to cut out shapes than to coax the dough into a tube-shape. Those people who have commented about the cookies molding, probably did not bake them long enough. I cooked my cookie cut outs for 40 min and my little icebox cookies for 30 min. These cookies are meant to be hard all the way through, like a store bought Milkbone. I have had mine in a sealed container for almost a week and they still look and smell great! I am putting a combination of cookies into cellophane bags to give to all Mya's doggy friends for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
All I can say is that my dogs love these ,and I roll them in a long roll and then slice them because I don't have a cookie-cutter it makes it easier for the little dogs to eat them also and it makes more treats. I also used rice flour instead of wheat. I'mix it in my food processor and it's ready to go into the oven in about 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've been making these for a while now, the first time I followed the suggestions of increasing the pumpkin and peanut butter, but it came out way too sticky and was difficult to work with. The second time I made it I used the amounts in the original recipe (but omitted the salt) and they came out perfect. I suggest combining everything but the flour first and then adding in the flour gradually, the dough does become stiff so it is easier to work with your hands, when rolling out flour the surface first and your hands to prevent from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
These treats turned out excellent! Insted of rolling and cutting like a jelly roll, I cut them with dog bone cutters! I also used stocking and gingerbread men to cut cookies for my Westie's stocking. I used dog frosting I found on the internet to decorate these and they were adorable! I used red and green food dye for the frosting I put on the holiday stocking treats! 5 tails up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States