Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I love making these for my 5 dogs. I make it one step easier by pressing the batter into a lined/sprayed cookie sheet and baking it for 30 minutes. I flip it out immediately and slice with a pizza cutter right away. My variations are: I use the full can of pumpkin, 1/2 C oatmeal, 2T molasses, sometimes I add shredded apple. I tried to post a photo, sorry it wouldn't load, but my dogs do not care that the treats are in small squares-The are quickly eaten!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Although I have no dog myself, I make these treats for the therapy dogs that visit the hospital I volunteer at. They love these treats. As soon as the dogs are finished "working" - and they do work, they come to my desk for the treats before leaving. First time I baked the "cookies" my husband thought they were for him because they smelled so good coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
The dogs enjoyed but liked a strictly pumpkin dog treat recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
My baby's loved them Added a little cinnamon and a little Parsley to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Outstanding! The dough is so wonderful to work with and easy to roll out. Plus, not only do my pups love them, the "dog" cookies are pretty delish with hummus as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as directed the first time and it was a bit hard to work with the dough. The next time, I doubled the pumpkin and then added in as much flour as I could with no water. I kneaded in remaining flour on a floured board. super easy to roll out and cut into cute shapes. My black labs LOVE these! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
These are easy to make and my dog loves them! I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter that I already had. I like making them because you know what's in them and they are healthy. I may also make them for my friends and family that have dogs! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
For those who said they had problems with mold.....make sure treats are thoroughly cooled before storing them. If they are warm they will cause condensation in the container hence molding your cookies. I doubled peanut butter and pumpkin and added oat flour (instead of wheat flour) as I kneaded it to the right consistency. I also added ground pumpkin seeds and chia seeds for added crunch. My 8 month old German Pointer goes as CRAZY or more for these than he does wild rabbit or bacon! I stuff his KONG toy with a couple (they are chewy consistency) and he is good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
My golden doodle will wait in the kitchen by the oven for these treats to finish baking! She absolutely loves them!! I read through a few of the reviews and just as others I made a few adjustments. I used 3cups of flour, 1 complete can of pumpkin, a couple of extra dabs of PB and finally 1 extra dash of cinnamon. Annabelle (the doodle) is in love with these!!! This recipe is super simple and works well with my Kitchenaid mixer. The dough is tacky, but once you flour your surface, wipe your hands with a touch of oil your then ready to begin rolling your dough. I found very inexpensive doggie bone cutouts through Amazon...I couldn't be more pleased. I'm one proud doodle mom with a healthy treat in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My dogs absolutely love these treats! My boy's tummy does not get along with wheat, so I used rice flour and about a half cup of potato starch. I also followed previous suggestions; doubled peanut butter to 1/4 cup and doubled pumpkin to 1 cup. This only required an extra 1/4 of flour or so. They baked perfectly - crunchy all the way through. I always give my pups a treat when I'm on my way out, and I feel like they're practically shoving me out the door in order to get their new treats now! Definitely a keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States