Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tried three different dog treat recipes. Dogs liked these the best. Not really sure why. I assumed they would have liked the peanut butter or beef/garlic recipes I tried. But they were the most excited and motivated (training) with these. A cinch to make. Took others' advise and used 1 c pumpkin and 1t cinnamon. I also rolled mine super-thin with a pasta maker and cut them into tiny training-sized treats. Baked 20 minutes. They sort of proofed into a cracker texture. Very affordable, easy, low calorie, and no garlic smell in top of dog breath. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My husky/lab cross, Mya, LOVES these cookies. They are so easy and inexpensive to make! Instead of whole wheat flour, I used brown rice flour, as it is easier for dogs to digest. I used the suggestions in other reviews and used about 3/4 cup of pumpkin and 3 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter. I started out using my hand mixer, and then kneaded the dough with my hands at the end. I have made the cookies both by rolling them into little tubes (icebox cookie style) and by rolling the dough flat and using cookie cutters to cut out shapes. Both turned out great. I actually found it easier to cut out shapes than to coax the dough into a tube-shape. Those people who have commented about the cookies molding, probably did not bake them long enough. I cooked my cookie cut outs for 40 min and my little icebox cookies for 30 min. These cookies are meant to be hard all the way through, like a store bought Milkbone. I have had mine in a sealed container for almost a week and they still look and smell great! I am putting a combination of cookies into cellophane bags to give to all Mya's doggy friends for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
All I can say is that my dogs love these ,and I roll them in a long roll and then slice them because I don't have a cookie-cutter it makes it easier for the little dogs to eat them also and it makes more treats. I also used rice flour instead of wheat. I'mix it in my food processor and it's ready to go into the oven in about 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've been making these for a while now, the first time I followed the suggestions of increasing the pumpkin and peanut butter, but it came out way too sticky and was difficult to work with. The second time I made it I used the amounts in the original recipe (but omitted the salt) and they came out perfect. I suggest combining everything but the flour first and then adding in the flour gradually, the dough does become stiff so it is easier to work with your hands, when rolling out flour the surface first and your hands to prevent from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
These treats turned out excellent! Insted of rolling and cutting like a jelly roll, I cut them with dog bone cutters! I also used stocking and gingerbread men to cut cookies for my Westie's stocking. I used dog frosting I found on the internet to decorate these and they were adorable! I used red and green food dye for the frosting I put on the holiday stocking treats! 5 tails up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My dog loved these!! Trying to whisk all of this together did not work so I just used my hands to mix everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made these for my two dogs. One dog will eat anything, but the other, very picky eater loved these. My only change was a bit more peanut butter...just because I like peanut butter and I figured they would too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
There were only 2 small changes that I made to this recipe: 1) I subbed 1/2c flour with 1/2c oats. 2) No salt. I rolled them into balls and pressed them with a fork and they came out pretty cute :) My dogs are very picky eaters, and they love 'em! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XiolaJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made these yesterday and my VERY PICKY 10 year old pup loves them. I wanted to figure out their shelf life though. How long can these last in a cookie jar or zip loc? EDIT: I also wanted to add that I see some people suggesting to add water. DON'T DO IT!! If you want your treats to last longer, you want LESS moisture, not more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This recipe was AMAZING!! the treats are so healthy, that I don't care how many my finicky little Westie has. I no longer have to shop for treats. I doubled the recipe and upped the pumpkin and PB. I used the following proportions: 5 cups of flour (ground an entire can of oatmeal in the food processor) One entire 15 ounce can of pumpkin one tsp cinnamon one tsp salt half cup or so of PB 4 eggs Didn't even try to mix it, just squished with my fingers, until color and texture were uniform. (also have thrown in cooked leftover brown rice) I rolled it out on 2 cookie sheets (oiled) baked for 30 mins, and cut them with a pizza cutter to 1/2 inch squares. Baked a little more after cutting,. Then freeze them until ready to use, a handful at a time. My westie eats them frozen, or I can nuke them a little. LOVE!!!! PS - when my westie has diarrhea, these are the very efficient remedy. And she gladly takes her meds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States