Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Easy recipe. My puppy really enjoys them. I am too lazy to roll and cut into shapes, so I just spread it on a jelly roll pan and cut them with a pizza cutter after baking for 25 min for a chewier treat. I did add 1/2 cup rolled oats. This is much cheaper than buying treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made these for my puppy to take to her doggie day care to celebrate her 1st birthday. The recipe is easy to make, but I did omit the salt (they're dogs, they shouldn't care if there's salt or not). All the dogs seemed to like them, so I have no reason not to give this 5 stars. I cooked them for 20 minutes and mine were solid, but they werent cruchy. That's okay for me since most of her treats arent crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I've made this recipe twice, once using a food processor and once with a stand mixer/dough hook. Definitely easier with the stand mixer and I only need a few tablespoons of water to make it workable. Like everyone mentioned, use a full cup of pumpkin. They do not take 40 minutes, more like 30 minutes, but depends on the size of cookie cutter you use. Small bone shaped cutter bakes quicker than a large bone shaped cutter. Doggie loves 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
love this recipe! i actually add 3/4-1 cup pumpkin and 3 tblsp of peanut butter and i never have to add any water. the dough is so workable. i think they r crunchier when i dont cut them the 1/2 in. thick. i do 1/4 to 1/3 and bake same amount of time and they are nice and crunchy. i also use 3 to 4 inch dog bones and can get nearly 40 treats out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
An easy-to-prepare treat which puppy loves. when i knead the dough, i use my bare hands to give the treats a little flavor of "me", which helps develop the connection way more than store-bought treats. Excellent for training. Recipe doesn't say, but about 1/4 cup of water added slowly while mixing the ingredients helps form the dough-like consistency during preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLICKAC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
All my dog friends raved about these. I use a little more peanut butter and a bone cookie cutter. Too cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Easy to make and dogs LOVE them. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimeluvzearth
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My dogs love these! The only modification I made was to add a whole can of pumpkin because I read of dry dough. Very workable, dogs love .... will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
My puppy LOVES these! So glad I found this recipe so my puppy can be healthy too by avoiding processed treats (and saving me money). Will use this again as a base and try adding other ingredients that are dog friendly like apples, blueberries, etc. Rolled dough about 1/4 thick and used a 1/2 tsp metal measuring teaspoon to cut out small circular snack sized treats. Baked 20 min, then left in oven to 'cool' and get crispy for another 5 min or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
As another review suggested, I wish I would have used a full cup of canned pumpkin as the dough was very stiff. Did add water as suggested to make dough workable but maybe wouldn't have to with the moisture from more pumpkin puree. I also rolled the dough to 1/4" thick as the 1/2" seemed too thick but watch carefully while baking. Was concerned about the cinnamon & found out (in moderation) the spice is good for dogs. To name just a few benefits; it has antibacterial properties, cleanses microorganisms from stomach & intenses and anti-inflammatory properties. Bottom-line, my dog loves these treats & I love not paying$$$ so much for treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States