Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Upped the pumpkin to 1 cup and needed to add a good bit of extra flour to make the dough workable. Oh well. :) Used the apple slicer to cut out triangle shapes and baked for 25 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
My dog really seemed to enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Great recipe! Dogs love them. Although, now one dog wont eat their dinner and is demanding treats instead. I changed the recipe a bit to make it healthier. I used flax seed meal instead of flour and doubled the amount of pumpkin and peanut butter. I didn't put salt in it because dogs shouldn't be eating much salt. I also used all organic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Used 1 cu yams,an extra tbsp pb, and some flax. No water. The kids and picky 12 yr old dog like um. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great, easy recipe. Rudie seems to enjoy these treats. I thawed out a frozen package of butternut squash and used that instead of pumpkin, only because I didn't have pumpkin. I also made the dough by just tossing everything in to my giant food processor. It was very easy! I didn't have any cookie cutters, so I made circular cookies using a shot glass to cut them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Easy recipe. My puppy really enjoys them. I am too lazy to roll and cut into shapes, so I just spread it on a jelly roll pan and cut them with a pizza cutter after baking for 25 min for a chewier treat. I did add 1/2 cup rolled oats. This is much cheaper than buying treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made these for my puppy to take to her doggie day care to celebrate her 1st birthday. The recipe is easy to make, but I did omit the salt (they're dogs, they shouldn't care if there's salt or not). All the dogs seemed to like them, so I have no reason not to give this 5 stars. I cooked them for 20 minutes and mine were solid, but they werent cruchy. That's okay for me since most of her treats arent crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I've made this recipe twice, once using a food processor and once with a stand mixer/dough hook. Definitely easier with the stand mixer and I only need a few tablespoons of water to make it workable. Like everyone mentioned, use a full cup of pumpkin. They do not take 40 minutes, more like 30 minutes, but depends on the size of cookie cutter you use. Small bone shaped cutter bakes quicker than a large bone shaped cutter. Doggie loves 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
love this recipe! i actually add 3/4-1 cup pumpkin and 3 tblsp of peanut butter and i never have to add any water. the dough is so workable. i think they r crunchier when i dont cut them the 1/2 in. thick. i do 1/4 to 1/3 and bake same amount of time and they are nice and crunchy. i also use 3 to 4 inch dog bones and can get nearly 40 treats out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
An easy-to-prepare treat which puppy loves. when i knead the dough, i use my bare hands to give the treats a little flavor of "me", which helps develop the connection way more than store-bought treats. Excellent for training. Recipe doesn't say, but about 1/4 cup of water added slowly while mixing the ingredients helps form the dough-like consistency during preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLICKAC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States