Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
My puppy LOVES these! So glad I found this recipe so my puppy can be healthy too by avoiding processed treats (and saving me money). Will use this again as a base and try adding other ingredients that are dog friendly like apples, blueberries, etc. Rolled dough about 1/4 thick and used a 1/2 tsp metal measuring teaspoon to cut out small circular snack sized treats. Baked 20 min, then left in oven to 'cool' and get crispy for another 5 min or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
As another review suggested, I wish I would have used a full cup of canned pumpkin as the dough was very stiff. Did add water as suggested to make dough workable but maybe wouldn't have to with the moisture from more pumpkin puree. I also rolled the dough to 1/4" thick as the 1/2" seemed too thick but watch carefully while baking. Was concerned about the cinnamon & found out (in moderation) the spice is good for dogs. To name just a few benefits; it has antibacterial properties, cleanses microorganisms from stomach & intenses and anti-inflammatory properties. Bottom-line, my dog loves these treats & I love not paying$$$ so much for treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Bailey Girl knew she would love these, because she loves, Loves, LOVES pumpkin! She stood in the kitchen, tail wagging and drooling all over the floor, while I made these for her. I increased the pumpkin, cinnamon, and peanut butter amounts. Also, the flour had to be increased to make the batter workable. The folks who have been able to whisk the ingredients have my admiration. I couldn't do it. But, the end product made up for the sticky batter. Bailey says thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My 3 dogs loved these treat, however I made some changes. I increased the peanut butter to 3 tbs, the pumpkin to 3/4 a cup, and added a 1/2 cup oats. I also added more flour to make them less sticky. I cut them into little bones and only need to bake them for 30 minutes. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
very easy to make, I did change the recipe a bit. I added peanuts, I used beef boulion instead of water almost a cup, and omitted the pumpkin plus more peanut butter. These were fun to make! We were able to shape the dough into all kinds of shapes like little paw prints. cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
SO easy. Used 1 cup of pumpkin, rolled out perfectly. I made these for my Moms 4 dogs for Christmas, they ALL loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My dogs loved these cookies. I had to add an egg because it looked too dry, but I felt good giving these to my dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Pretty great recipe on its own! I added instant oats & more cinnamon/pumpkin & used a dog bone cookie cutter & gave baked them for Christmas...every doggie LOVED them & I am never buying dog treats again..oh and be sure to tell ppl they are for the dog cause they will smell amazing in your kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My dogs loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Kostick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I added more peanutbutter (chunky) and oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States