Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good enough to be made into crackers for people! Great treat for our four legged friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made the recipe for my dogs and others for Christmas presents. I know that pumpkin is good for dogs if they have an upset stomach, so I was glad to use it in this recipe. I added a bit more flour as I was kneading the dough just to make it tougher and not stick to my rolling pin. Not sure how thick mine were, but they were perfectly done after about 25 minutes in the oven. Definitely will make again!! After sampling some of the treats once they were cooled from the oven, my dogs followed me around for the rest of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
eliminate the salt and double the pumpkin & peanut butter. Dog goes crazy for these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I've made dog biscuits in the past, but didn't have my recipe handy so I tried this one. This is honestly a GREAT recipe as-is, but is also a perfect "base" recipe for customizing to suit special diets and preferences. I made a batch as directed, then made a 2nd batch with dried parsley sprinkled into the dough. I also sprinkled some ground flax seed on top before baking. Turned out great, and my mom's schnauzer loved them! Next time, I plan to add an extra tablespoon or two of peanut butter. This recipe is a keeper and will replace my old recipe, which was good, but not this good! A few tips on mixing: Don't whisk the dough. Instead, stir the dry ingredients together in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and the rest of the wet ingredients. Then stir the wet into the dry. Knead to thoroughly mix before rolling out. Don't add water except as an absolute last resort, because it'll ruin the crunch factor. You want this to be a very dry dough that can be kneaded, rolled-out and cut without sticking to anything. If it sticks, add more flour. Leftover pieces can be rolled into snake-shapes and cut into small kibbles for snacks and baked on the same sheet as the cut-out "cookies" for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' storm 97
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The dough was extremely sticky; went through an extra 1/2 cup of flour just to keep it from sticking to everything! They are very easy to make and a quick recipe- and my dog loves them! Will definitely be making these again! They came out a nice light orange as well, so I used a maple "dog frosting" mix I had to frost. Perfect fall or Thanksgiving treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Followed the directions...but used all purpose (white) flour instead of w/w because I misread lol I had to add more flour & couldn't understand why... Now I know lol My dog loved them & they were easy to make. My 8-year old niece even tried one...she said they were decent hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These treats were easy enough to make, although the batter tried to creep up the mixer and then was insanely sticky to spoon onto the trays. But even though my dog seemed to like them, I wont be making them again. After they had cooled I stored them in air tight containers...and it's only been 5 days and they're all covered in mold. My dog only ate them at most 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My dog absolutely loves these!!! I did was was suggested and added 1 full heaping cup of pumpkin instead and then I refrigerated the dough for about 4 hours (my idea) and it was super easy to work with!!! I think I found my christmas gifts for all the pets in my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
These are easy to make and my dog sure likes them :) they didn't sit well with him tho, but, could just be my dog.^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States