Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Tough to handle dough. Must have used too much pumpkin from idea from other cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamezera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaJo
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I have a lot of canned pumpkin left over from the holidays and this was a perfect way to use it up. I used a whole can of pumpkin, 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and quick oats. 2 eggs, 2 Tablespoon of PBS and a shake of cinnamon. It was too soft to roll out. Kinda like a thick oatmeal cookie mix. So I made them like drop cookies. About a half teaspoon (my baby is still a baby) then pressed flat with my fingers. Baked them at 350 for almost 30 min or so. I kept checking to make sure they wouldn't burn but got dry. My little chug Arianna, LIVES them. Everything I go into the kitchen she follows me hoping I will give her another one. LOL I will definitely make these again . Super simple as drop cookies. Very little fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Have made these several times and our dogs love them! Only thing I change is that I use spelt flour instead of whole wheat. I also find it's much quicker if I spread the dough out on a cookie sheet, bake it, and then cut it using a pizza cutter. Not cute like cookie cutter shapes but the dogs don't seem to mind!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Make these for Max, my labradoodle. I, as many do, add extra pumpkin and peanut butter and if it's too sticky just add more flour or water as needed. I also add chia seeds as these are really good for dogs. Great recipe and Max loves them. I don't roll them out...just take a small amount into a ball and then press down. All cookie cutters are packed as we're getting ready to move. Don't think Max minds not having a shape as long as he gets a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Super easy. Used my Kitchenaid mixer and started with 1.5 cups flour. Then added more flour until it was "rolling" consistency. Rolled to 1/4" and baked 45 minutes. Turned off the oven and let them sit until they were cool and dry. They taste like sweet biscuits. Dogs are happy campers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Made these for my two furry babies and they loved them. I will have to make another batch as they are now gone. Kept the recipe exactly as written and it worked well. Cut them in bone shapes. Something a little different with the pumpkin but they loved them and they are also good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruby's Mother
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
2 Paws Up from my lab/hound cross! I decreased the flour to 2 cups and added 3/4 cup of oatmeal, and I used 2 tbsp PB2 (powdered peanut butter) plus 2 tbsp organic coconut oil instead of regular peanut butter. I only needed about 1/3 cup water to make a soft dough and then rolled out the dough on a floured board. I cut up the biscuits into 1 inch squares using a pastry wheel, and pricked the top of the biscuits with a fork. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and rotated them half-way through. The results are crunchy and doggy-licious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I used this as a starting point here's some changes I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
My poor puppy is having a rough time recovering from her recent surgery so I thought I would make her some cookies. She really likes them! My husband had accidently opened a 15 oz can of pumpkin that was in the fridge so this was a perfect way to make use of it. I read other reviews so I opted to increase the peanut butter as well to balance the pumpkin, pb ratio. I added some oats and slowly added more flour until the dough was the right consistency. I wanted small treats. After rolling out the dough I used a pizza cutter to quickly make bite size pieces that can be used for training. Baking time was approximately 20 minutes per pan. I ended up with 236 treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommytimestwo
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Both of my dogs (Terrier-mix and German Shepherd) love this recipe! I took the advice of others and doubled the PB and pumpkin. They liked it better and it smelled more of PB and pumpkin rather than just smelling like dough. I also substitute butternut squash and they still can't get enough of them. I have also tried adding applesauce and bananas in lieu of doubling the ingredients and it worked out wonderfully! Instead of doubling, I followed the 1/2 cup pumpkin and 2 tbsp of PB and added 1/2 cup of applesauce and one banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommytimestwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States