Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My two dogs are really fussy and they loved them. I thought all this trouble and they probably won't eat them. But they love them. Will pass this recipe on to friends I only made 1/2 a recipe didn't change anything. Next time it will be the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean's
Living In: Lakebay, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These treats have been a HUGE hit with every dog I know. The dough can be a little challenging to work with, but it's worth it. Just add a little extra extra pumpkin or peanut butter if it becomes to dry. The doggies will not object!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
my dogs loved these treats. they actually risked kennel time out to get in to the cabinet to get to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Just made this for my dog, but substituted sweet potato for ground up oatmeal because I didn't have flour or pumpkin on hand. She LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I tried them and thought they had no flavor even after doubling the pumpkin, but the dog sure loved them! As another reviewer commented, treat the dough like pie crust dough: add one tablespoon of water at a time until the dough is workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FurMomma
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
One of our dogs has issues with her anal glands and the vet is always telling us to give her pumpkin - this is a great way to make sure she is still getting what she needs healthwise while feeling like it's a treat, not torture. These turned out so cute! Minimal ingredients and easy to make. For those looking to make them, keep in mind the "Add water as needed"! Otherwise they will never turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROMATTS
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made these as drop cookies, about a Tablespoon each. The dogs knew they were for them, they even liked the raw dough. And after baking, they are sitting there looking at the container, wanting more. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by labmama
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I am rating the actual recipe WITHOUT all of the tweaks the other reviewers have suggested. Let me just say right off, I made these twice b/c the first time, I screwed up. Not Kelly (the recipe poster), not the ingredients listed, not my oven but me. I realized (as I was making the 2nd batch) that I did not put in the correct amount of flour and I also used a 'natural/organic' peanut butter that was very oily, tacky, and sticky so already not having enough flour, that type of PB made things worse. I saw where another reviewer said hers was sticky as well - maybe she did what I did? Regardless, I made it exactly the way the recipe called for the 2nd time around and it turned out perfectly. The dough was "dry and stiff" like Kelly said it would be; I even added "water as needed" just as Kelly suggested to do; I did everything spot on. These treats look and feel just like regular store bought dog treats do except I know where all the ingredients came from and what's in them. Most importantly, my dogs love them. My advice, follow the exact recipe and they'll turn out just fine. (I will post pics of what the dough should look like before hand & of the treats after baking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good enough to be made into crackers for people! Great treat for our four legged friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made the recipe for my dogs and others for Christmas presents. I know that pumpkin is good for dogs if they have an upset stomach, so I was glad to use it in this recipe. I added a bit more flour as I was kneading the dough just to make it tougher and not stick to my rolling pin. Not sure how thick mine were, but they were perfectly done after about 25 minutes in the oven. Definitely will make again!! After sampling some of the treats once they were cooled from the oven, my dogs followed me around for the rest of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States