Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I read all reviews and increased the pumpkin to 1 cup and increased the peanut butter to 3 T. I left out the salt. I dumped everything into my Kitchen Aid mixer and it was a little sticky (as it should have been with the added pumpkin) I added about 1/3 - 1/2 more whole wheat flour and it mixed up very well. I rolled out on a very lightly dusted board to 1/2 " and cut into 1 1/2" rounds. Yield 45. Baked at 350 for 40 minutes. Perfect! These have no preservatives so should be frozen. Now, I don't have a dog as I made these for someone who does. Doggie review TBA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I doubled this recipe as we have two big dogs, an Akita/German Shepherd cross and a Rottweiler/Pit Bull cross and keeping them in store bought treats is super expensive. I used an entire 15 oz can of pumpkin and 4 HEAPING tablespoons of peanut butter. I rolled the dough, half at a time into a rectangle shape about 1/2 " thick and cut into 1"x1" squares. After baking for 40 minutes I let the cookies sit in a low 200 degree oven until they were completely hard. I ended up with about 100 treats and the dogs love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My dogs LOVE this recipe! I altered the recipe too. I used a whole small can of pumpkin, 2 hefty spoonfuls of peanut butter, a few shots of cinnamon, 4 eggs and then added flour until I got a rolling dough consistency. 40-50 minutes in the oven and I had the happiest dogs on the block!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacy Patterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My lab starts drooling when I pull a bag of these out of the refrig. Have not found a dog that does not like these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My dogs love these! They literally wait in the kitchen while biscuits are cooking and whine! I have one dog who is allergic to almost everything. So, I substitute the wheat flour for rice flour so he can eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Super easy to make and my dogs love them!!! I even have a very picky husky and he goes nuts when he smells this dough. They are simple and healthy and don't include ingredients that are harmful to dogs like some other home recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I do not usually like to rate a recipe if I did't follow it exactly as written (at least the first time), but unfortunately I was not able to follow the recipe as the dough was SOO stiff, I couldn't use as much as was called for. I doubled the recipe & then followed the recipe exactly, but once my mixed stopped moving after adding only 3 cups of flour out of 5, I dumped the dough out of my mixing bowl & kneaded in approx. another 1/2 cup or so by hand. Just enough so that the dough was not sticky & could be rolled out- somewhere between the consistency of sugar cookie dough & pizza dough. Aside from that, the dogs LOVE these & I found that the dough was extremely easy to work with. I even rolled, cut & re-rolled until I used every last bit of it. I also only baked them for about 30-35 minutes as they were starting to burn- will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Our three dogs loved them! I followed the recipe exactly except that I subbed a half cup of oatmeal for a half cup of flour. The dough was mixed in a Kitchen Aid mixer and was super easy to roll out and cut into shapes. After about 30 minutes of baking, I turned the oven off and left the door closed for about an hour longer and they got nice and crisp. The dough shapes were placed real close together on the baking sheet as they do shrink. One recipe made a little more than two half-sheet pans (18x13") of dog bone-shaped cookie treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made these and my picky Pekingese appears to like them. My Vet has suggested giving her pumpkin for regularity so this recipe looked like a good way to incorporate this into her diet. I used a whole can of pumpkin (very important to use pure pumpkin)and added an extra spoonful of peanut butter. I think the salt is important due to it being a chemical agent with the flour and not so much a taste factor. I did have trouble manipulating the dough so I rolled it in a log and have it in the freezer. It made a very large amount and I will work on my technique of how to slice these in a better way. The first small batch looks like mini biscuits and I am not too happy with them but Lucy is eating them so that's what's important. Coming from my kitchen and not from China is very important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So great!! My lab hasn't stopped begging for them since they came out of the oven!! Four paws WAY up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States