Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Our pug loves these. She really likes squash and pumpkin and even prefers these over a liver cookie! Made the recipe as is but added extra pumpkin instead of water for moisture, 1-2tbsp. Had the kids make the cookies into balls the flatten into small cookies (1") and she loves thm. Baked till dry, slightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Best recipe ever. Just left the salt out. Bella-Marie Loves them and so do her pals, Gadget & Rain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
TWO PAWS UP!! I just made this recipe tonight for a Pet Fair my neighborhood is having. I thought I would try it out on my EXTREMELY PICKY Bichon Frise first...She LOVED them and wanted more. I had read the reviews and added 1 cup pumpkin, 1/2 cup oats, 3tbsp of natural chunky peanut butter (I did leave out the salt)!! Great consistency!! Baked for 35 min! I also added "Doggie Icing" 2 tsp corn starch, 2 tsp cold water, food coloring and a dash of vanilla! You bake the "icing" onto the cookie. They Looked Great!! And smelled sooo good! I can't wait to sell them at our Pet Fair, I know they will be a hit and all the proceeds will benefit our local Humane Society!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cori Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Our dogs love these :) Even the picky "old man" devours them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My tiny furbabies LOVE LOVE LOVE these! Use 1 c pumpkin and 4T of peanut butter and have yet to find a pup that won't eat these up. So simple to make and I feel so much better knowing what my dogs are eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
So, I forgot to add the eggs and they STILL turned out really great. I baked them for about 30-35 minutes, so they'd be crunchy. The dogs love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
The dogs went wild over this recipe - but many people have commented on mold problems. Think of these like you would bread - there is a short shelf life. Mold is a result of moisture - commercial dog treats are very dry all the way through and are probably full of preservatives. These treats need to be completely dried out to avoid mold. I turned the oven off and left them to cool in the oven. Even then, they were still a little moist inside, so I put them back in a hot oven, turned it off, and let them sit for another 30 minutes - this dried them out really well - they were totally crispy, and they were fine for a week in zip-lock bags. Think cracker, not cookie. If you live in a damp climate, you might want to freeze or refrigerate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
My dogs love these. We make them all the time. They do mold if you keep them out so we cut them all up and store them in the freezer and then take out what we need for a couple days and store in the fridge. It's so great to know just what's going into your treats and they're much cheaper to make than the natural ones you buy at stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
First let me say these need to be stored in the fridge. I just made mine about 4 days ago and stored them in an air-tight container but they are all moldy today. They were really enjoyed by my little dog while they were good, though. I think next time I will freeze them and only take out a few at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
One of my dogs has wheat allergies, so I used gluten-free flour, and I also wound up using more pumpkin (possibly because of the different flour), but the dogs LOVE these - and so do all their doggie pals. Cut smaller (or, baked less and cut up after) they make great training treats, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States