Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Make these for Max, my labradoodle. I, as many do, add extra pumpkin and peanut butter and if it's too sticky just add more flour or water as needed. I also add chia seeds as these are really good for dogs. Great recipe and Max loves them. I don't roll them out...just take a small amount into a ball and then press down. All cookie cutters are packed as we're getting ready to move. Don't think Max minds not having a shape as long as he gets a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Super easy. Used my Kitchenaid mixer and started with 1.5 cups flour. Then added more flour until it was "rolling" consistency. Rolled to 1/4" and baked 45 minutes. Turned off the oven and let them sit until they were cool and dry. They taste like sweet biscuits. Dogs are happy campers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Made these for my two furry babies and they loved them. I will have to make another batch as they are now gone. Kept the recipe exactly as written and it worked well. Cut them in bone shapes. Something a little different with the pumpkin but they loved them and they are also good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruby's Mother
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
2 Paws Up from my lab/hound cross! I decreased the flour to 2 cups and added 3/4 cup of oatmeal, and I used 2 tbsp PB2 (powdered peanut butter) plus 2 tbsp organic coconut oil instead of regular peanut butter. I only needed about 1/3 cup water to make a soft dough and then rolled out the dough on a floured board. I cut up the biscuits into 1 inch squares using a pastry wheel, and pricked the top of the biscuits with a fork. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and rotated them half-way through. The results are crunchy and doggy-licious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I used this as a starting point here's some changes I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
My poor puppy is having a rough time recovering from her recent surgery so I thought I would make her some cookies. She really likes them! My husband had accidently opened a 15 oz can of pumpkin that was in the fridge so this was a perfect way to make use of it. I read other reviews so I opted to increase the peanut butter as well to balance the pumpkin, pb ratio. I added some oats and slowly added more flour until the dough was the right consistency. I wanted small treats. After rolling out the dough I used a pizza cutter to quickly make bite size pieces that can be used for training. Baking time was approximately 20 minutes per pan. I ended up with 236 treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommytimestwo
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Both of my dogs (Terrier-mix and German Shepherd) love this recipe! I took the advice of others and doubled the PB and pumpkin. They liked it better and it smelled more of PB and pumpkin rather than just smelling like dough. I also substitute butternut squash and they still can't get enough of them. I have also tried adding applesauce and bananas in lieu of doubling the ingredients and it worked out wonderfully! Instead of doubling, I followed the 1/2 cup pumpkin and 2 tbsp of PB and added 1/2 cup of applesauce and one banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommytimestwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
My dog did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
My two schnauzers LOVE these, to the exclusion of store-bought treats. I doubled the pumpkin and you absolutely will have to add water in small increments to make the dough workable - it can be very sticky. I also sometimes add molasses or honey and flax. I don't cook them to rock hard like the recipe recommends; I leave them somewhat chewy, but beware if you do this that they will not keep as long (maybe 5 days) although my dogs are so spoiled this is rarely an issue. We go thru treats at a ridiculous rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
When I read the reviews I was skeptical at how much everyone said their docs love them. I have made 4 batches of these and my dogs cannot get enough! I originally started making these because we got two new puppies and needed some small training treats. I use a pizza cutter to cut small little squares and they work beautifully. I can't imagine how much money I have saved, and even better the dogs are gettings something healthier and that they love. I am going to try and make them with rice flour which is easier on their stomachs. But I imagine this recipe will be used many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States