Peanut Butter and Jelly Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
The taste is fine, but the texture is on the dry, crumbly side (even though I increased the jam/jelly to 1.5 cups and added a bit more water). This is one of those desserts best served a la mode or with a large glass of milk to offset the dryness. If I make it again, I will double the amount of jelly/jam, add a little more water, and serve it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These were OK. They were kinda dry. I did increase the amount of strawberry preserves. Adding some cool whip on top made them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I don't know why I haven't rated these before--I've been doing them for years, even with my own homemade jelly/jam--my kids LOVE them! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These taste just like a peanut butter and jelly sandwhich! My daughter and I made these together, and we didn't have enough regular oats to make the topping, so we used a couple of packets of maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal. Now that added a yummy twist! We used grape jelly. Held together nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYNJASON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
When I made mine they didn't come out near as pretty as the picture. Also they could have used a little more jelly. There were some parts of the bars where there was no jelly. Other than that they tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Mine didn't turn out quite as pretty as the picture but my family loved them! They said it reminded them of strawberry newtons. After a couple days they get very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Mine didn't turn out quite as pretty as the picture, and it was pretty dry... but still yummy! I want to make it again but i'm not sure how to fix the dryness problem...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Awesome! I took these to my daughter's preschool class and one of her teachers asked for the recipe. :) I used half-dark brown sugar and half-light brown, and I used ½ cup of regular Crisco shortening plus 1/4 cup softened margarine. I also mixed the water in at the same time as the oats, it came together fast. If your preserves or jam (I used Smucker's Strawberry Jam) are a little clumpy and doesn't want to spread, just pop them in the microwave for 20 seconds or so. It'll make it easier to spread them over the base. Oh, and lastly, I just sort of crumbled-and-pressed the topping part over the jam, I didn't arrange the dough over top. Very good bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is so easy & wonderful, my very picky 2 1/2 year old and 4 year old both loved them when I made for my 2 1/2 year olds preschool. The teacher requested the recipe immediately. Thank you very much for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, only used whole wheat flour instead of white. Seemed to have a lot more peanut butter/oat mixture than jelly so it was a little dry. But very tasty and my kids loved them. Will make again--probably add more water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States