Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This would have been a perfect cake had it not been for putting the cake back in the oven to melt the morsels. The cake got dried out and the morsels would not melt. Melt the morsels in a double boiler and spread over the peanut butter. Much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimberlyKTX
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I just made this, and they came out fantastic! I have to admit, I'm one who believes that you taste with your eyes first - so instead of following the directions for baking I used my cupcake pans to get the desired 'Tandy Kake' effect. Once they were cooked, I removed them from the pan and spread some peanut butter on top of each cake. I melted my chocolate in a double boiler and spread it over the cakes, plopping a largish 'blob' on top of the cake. Then I quickly spread the chocolate over the cake to the sides and 'frosted' around the cake to the edges. Be careful not to mess with the top too much if you are going to use this method because the heat of the chocolate melts the peanut butter and it tends to bleed into the chocolate a little bit. Once they were 'frosted' I popped them into the freezer for 3 minutes to 'set' the chocolate. They were MOST excellent! Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKTX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Agree with milk chocolate chips over semi-sweet. Found the peanut butter overwhelming, so the second time I made it, I reduced the peanut butter to 3/4-cup and the chips to 1-1/2 cups. Seemed more balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
I have missed the Philly "staple" of Tastykakes, and especially Peanut Butter Tandytakes, ever since I moved out of the region. Had a recipe for this that was vaguely written. Was thrilled to find this easy to follow recipe on the web. Made them for a party and they were an instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Growing up in the Philly area meant Tastykakes were a main staple in my lunch box! Definitely just like my favorite Tastykake of all, and yes, the milk chocolate chips are better to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This recipe did not impress me at all. I felt the peanut butter needed to be sweetened, maybe the milk choc would be better. Also letting the chocolate cool in room temp before putting it in the fridge will help keep the chocolate from blooming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love how easy this recipe is. I usually have tips after making, but not for this one. I made as a two-layer cake per my daughter's birthday request. Since this works best when you put the peanut butter and chocolate chips on warm cake, I had to pry the cake out of the pans before it was completely cool. I could use some tips on that (I did grease and flour pans). FYI - when you make and serve from a 10x15 jelly roll pan, it's EASY and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Being a true Philadelphian, I love this recipe. I do prefer it with milk chocolate and separate layers of peanut butter and chocolate! Excellent and everyone loves it!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This certainly does satify my cravings for Tandy Cakes since they don't sell them here in Texas! I did follow the advice of putting the peanut butter on first and then chilling it in the frig before putting on a milk chocolate layer (I use a big Hershey bar that I melt). Also, score the chocolate while it's soft and it will be easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This wasn't a bad cake, but it was nowhere near as exciting as I thought it would be. I feel let down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States