Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly, and at first taste I wasn't impressed. However, I let it sit in the fridge overnight and that seemed to make a world of difference! The only thing I changed was the amount of peanut butter, I only used 3/4 Cup. I waited until the cake had chilled before I added my melted semi sweet chips. Probably would have been even better with the milk chocolate chips. And like other reviewers, I feel like the peanut butter needs sweetened. Maybe mixing it with confectioners sugar would help. Overall, my family and I enjoyed this cake!! It's hard to go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Awesome. Next time I might try with chocolate frosting instead of melted milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These were wonderful and I am a Philly girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is amazing. Being a Philly girl born and raised, when I moved away I missed my favorite treats as a child. This def changed all of that. I did make some changes though. I used the same cake receipt, but instead of making one cake I made individual servings like the actually tandycakes. I used a regular size cupcake pan, but poured 1 tbs of batter in each and baked for 10 min. I repeated this until all of the batter was gone. I then used honey peanut butter (to add some extra sweetness). Once all tops werebspread with peanut butter, inlaced them in the fridge for about an hr. I then melted 2 bags of regular chocolate chips (1 bag at a time) and dipped The top of the cakes (the peanut butter side down) wih the chocolate and placed them on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and placed them back into the fridge until hardned. Talk about delicious, I thought I was eating an actual tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I just made this for a 30th birthday, everyone liked it, but I thought it was dry, I even took it out of the oven early. This recipe was not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Fan-Freaking-tastic i only used about three quarters of a pound of chocolate bars ( the ones made in Hershey P.A.) And the choosey mothers peanut butter and wow what a treat ! I have not had true Tandy Cakes in 20 years and they tasted ALMOST exactly as i remember. Watch cake cooking time my oven was faster. Cut while chocolate is still melty and use parchement. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a delicious recipe! Rather than adding chocolate chips and putting the cake back in the oven, I melt a large chocolate candy bar and spread it over the peanut butter layer after I have refrigerated the cake long enough for the peanut butter to harden a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This did well, all beit I cooked it as a gigantic 4 cup flour cake - wasn't quite sure how it would turn out, but the batter ended up tasting like angel food cake (but much, much thicker!). I covered the cake in Peanut Butter, and instead of dark chocolate, I used melted white baker's chocolate and stuck in the freezer to harden after I covered with sprinkles. This was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rangergurl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this for my husband for his birthday since he absolutely loves chocolate and peanut butter and it was a huge hit. I ended up having the choc/peanut butter on the bottom of the cake and used chocolate frosting for the top which made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I just made these yesterday for the first time. They taste very close to Peanut Butter Kandy Cakes by Tasty Cake. The next time I make them I will try using milk chocolate instead of semisweet. Everyone is enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States