Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly, and at first taste I wasn't impressed. However, I let it sit in the fridge overnight and that seemed to make a world of difference! The only thing I changed was the amount of peanut butter, I only used 3/4 Cup. I waited until the cake had chilled before I added my melted semi sweet chips. Probably would have been even better with the milk chocolate chips. And like other reviewers, I feel like the peanut butter needs sweetened. Maybe mixing it with confectioners sugar would help. Overall, my family and I enjoyed this cake!! It's hard to go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Awesome. Next time I might try with chocolate frosting instead of melted milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These were wonderful and I am a Philly girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is amazing. Being a Philly girl born and raised, when I moved away I missed my favorite treats as a child. This def changed all of that. I did make some changes though. I used the same cake receipt, but instead of making one cake I made individual servings like the actually tandycakes. I used a regular size cupcake pan, but poured 1 tbs of batter in each and baked for 10 min. I repeated this until all of the batter was gone. I then used honey peanut butter (to add some extra sweetness). Once all tops werebspread with peanut butter, inlaced them in the fridge for about an hr. I then melted 2 bags of regular chocolate chips (1 bag at a time) and dipped The top of the cakes (the peanut butter side down) wih the chocolate and placed them on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and placed them back into the fridge until hardned. Talk about delicious, I thought I was eating an actual tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I just made this for a 30th birthday, everyone liked it, but I thought it was dry, I even took it out of the oven early. This recipe was not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Fan-Freaking-tastic i only used about three quarters of a pound of chocolate bars ( the ones made in Hershey P.A.) And the choosey mothers peanut butter and wow what a treat ! I have not had true Tandy Cakes in 20 years and they tasted ALMOST exactly as i remember. Watch cake cooking time my oven was faster. Cut while chocolate is still melty and use parchement. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a delicious recipe! Rather than adding chocolate chips and putting the cake back in the oven, I melt a large chocolate candy bar and spread it over the peanut butter layer after I have refrigerated the cake long enough for the peanut butter to harden a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This did well, all beit I cooked it as a gigantic 4 cup flour cake - wasn't quite sure how it would turn out, but the batter ended up tasting like angel food cake (but much, much thicker!). I covered the cake in Peanut Butter, and instead of dark chocolate, I used melted white baker's chocolate and stuck in the freezer to harden after I covered with sprinkles. This was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rangergurl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this for my husband for his birthday since he absolutely loves chocolate and peanut butter and it was a huge hit. I ended up having the choc/peanut butter on the bottom of the cake and used chocolate frosting for the top which made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I just made these yesterday for the first time. They taste very close to Peanut Butter Kandy Cakes by Tasty Cake. The next time I make them I will try using milk chocolate instead of semisweet. Everyone is enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States