Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I think it may be a better idea to add the eggs after the hot wet ingredients are added to the dry ingredients because heating the eggs caused them to cook a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Excellent recipe. Light and fluffy cake with a nice thick topping. Very rich tasting (have a lot of milk on hand for your guests to drink). I constantly stirred the contents of the saucepan until everything came to a boil (to avoid cooking the eggs as another Reviewer had that problem) and it worked out fine. One last note, warm up the chocolate icing when you are ready to ice the cake, it spreads a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
It smelt good and looked good before I put it into the oven. It didn't turn out at all, it was hard and thick and didn't puff up, I followed your instructions exactly and would like to know how everyone else succeded! Very disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABNOLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This is the best cake i have EVER eaten! Very wonderful! A must recipe for any peanut butter lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is superb, however, I have "cheated" and used box cake mix and even box brownies, then made the peanut butter & chocolate toppings as directed. Everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday & it was a hit. He is a huge peanut butter & chocolate fan & difficult to please, but received rave reviews. I'll make this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
If I could give this recipe six stars i would. I made this cake for my finance's birthday, and he loved it! The cake was sooo moist, and the frosting was absolutely delicious. I did take the advice of adding the eggs after the hot ingredients are added to dry. I used crunchy peanut butter and it was great! I will defiantly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
very good cake. Yes I am a peanut butter and choc. lover...but this cake is 100% awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Although I think this cake and frosting were great, it was a bit rich. I was hesitant to add oil to the peanut butter and in hindsight I don't think it was needed at all (in fact, it really didn't even need the peanut butter to be delicious!) I would make again but definately would leave the oil out of the PB. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
We did as other readers suggested and put the eggs in with the dry ingredients. Everything else we followed to the T! The batter was scrumptious and so was the bottom of the cake which was still stuck in the pan. Since they worked so hard to make the cake, I just allowed the little ones to eat the stuck part right out of the pan. Yummy cake, but would probably make better cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States