Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Excellent recipe. Light and fluffy cake with a nice thick topping. Very rich tasting (have a lot of milk on hand for your guests to drink). I constantly stirred the contents of the saucepan until everything came to a boil (to avoid cooking the eggs as another Reviewer had that problem) and it worked out fine. One last note, warm up the chocolate icing when you are ready to ice the cake, it spreads a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I should probably delete this from my recipe box it was THAT GOOD! Everyone in my family loved it. I followed others advice, (no oil with the PB and to add the eggs with the dry stuff so they would'nt cook) I will definitley make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is superb, however, I have "cheated" and used box cake mix and even box brownies, then made the peanut butter & chocolate toppings as directed. Everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I think it may be a better idea to add the eggs after the hot wet ingredients are added to the dry ingredients because heating the eggs caused them to cook a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Although I think this cake and frosting were great, it was a bit rich. I was hesitant to add oil to the peanut butter and in hindsight I don't think it was needed at all (in fact, it really didn't even need the peanut butter to be delicious!) I would make again but definately would leave the oil out of the PB. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Was okay, but wasn't as good as expected. The cake reminded me (and others) of spice cake and the frosting was good but not great. The recipe was easy to follow, but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Great recipe, would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
It smelt good and looked good before I put it into the oven. It didn't turn out at all, it was hard and thick and didn't puff up, I followed your instructions exactly and would like to know how everyone else succeded! Very disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABNOLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I made this cake this morning and it is excellent. Everybody loves it. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Excellent! It's very rich and a little goes a long way! Everyone who tasted it, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States