Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Very good flavor. I made for my father-in-law's 91st birthday and he loved it. I would reduce the cooking time by 5 minutes next time as it seemed a teeny bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This cake was sooo good. We made it exactly as it said and it weighs as much as a lasagna!! Very rich and filling! I wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
very good cake. Yes I am a peanut butter and choc. lover...but this cake is 100% awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is the best chocolate cake ever!! It is such a good chocolate flavor. I use this recipe for my husband's birthday and he is over the moon with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday & it was a hit. He is a huge peanut butter & chocolate fan & difficult to please, but received rave reviews. I'll make this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
We did as other readers suggested and put the eggs in with the dry ingredients. Everything else we followed to the T! The batter was scrumptious and so was the bottom of the cake which was still stuck in the pan. Since they worked so hard to make the cake, I just allowed the little ones to eat the stuck part right out of the pan. Yummy cake, but would probably make better cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
If I could give this recipe six stars i would. I made this cake for my finance's birthday, and he loved it! The cake was sooo moist, and the frosting was absolutely delicious. I did take the advice of adding the eggs after the hot ingredients are added to dry. I used crunchy peanut butter and it was great! I will defiantly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Oh my....Oh, my....oh...my. We have to thank my 6 year old birthday girl for finding this one. "I want a chocolate peanut butter cake, Mommy, with Alice in Wonderland on it and the Cheshire Cat and her kitten...". So I found this recipe to fit the demands. And boy! (or should I say --girl!) Most of what I use is organic, which I think boosts the taste factor in and of itself. But that doesn't take away from the fact that this is a great recipe! I chose to use a generous 2/3 cup of wheat pastry flour and the rest white. I used a scant 2 cups of sugar (crystals from cane juice if you are interested), but otherwise followed the recipe. Oh, I did add some nuts on top of the frosting, crushed peanuts because of Alice (I didn't want the picture of her taking off frosting when I removed her so the nuts made a barrier). And I think I'll do that every time because I thought they were really good with it. I baked it the full 25 minutes, and it is still incredibly moist. It was done, pulling away from the sides of the pan and coming clean with a tester, but still is very moist (even with the wheat flour!). It's sweet, no doubt. But it's not set-your-teeth-on-edge sweet. Everyone enjoyed it, especially the birthday girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Excellent recipe. Light and fluffy cake with a nice thick topping. Very rich tasting (have a lot of milk on hand for your guests to drink). I constantly stirred the contents of the saucepan until everything came to a boil (to avoid cooking the eggs as another Reviewer had that problem) and it worked out fine. One last note, warm up the chocolate icing when you are ready to ice the cake, it spreads a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I should probably delete this from my recipe box it was THAT GOOD! Everyone in my family loved it. I followed others advice, (no oil with the PB and to add the eggs with the dry stuff so they would'nt cook) I will definitley make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States