Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I have had and used this recipe since 1975. I melt the butter on low heat in the pan, then beat the eggs and add them with the cold water and buttermilk and stir continuously and have no problem with the eggs cooking. This is NOT a recipe for dieters! It is very rich and very delicious - and addicting. If you like the combination of chocolate with peanut butter, I think you will LOVE this recipe! I like it best when I have a cup of hot coffee with COLD piece of this cake, but a glass of milk with a piece of this cake is pretty darned good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
It was my turn to make the office birthday cake so I was looking for something that would satisfy our love for the 2 basic food groups, chocolate and peanut butter. After reading all the reviews I made the cake, adding the eggs to the dry mixture and omitting the oil (I put the peanut butter in the microwave for 15 seconds to make it more spreadable). I also used chunky peanut butter which we all love. I hate trying a recipe for the first time on company, but the reviews led me to believe I had nothing to worry about and they were right!!!! It was a hit, everyone loved it. And I agree. It was moist, rich and yummy. Well worth the caloric intake. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I loved this recipe! I did make a few changes though. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used 1 cup of whole milk. I also used 1/2 cup of water instead of 1 cup. I added the peanut butter (3/4 cup) into the saucepan with the coco powder, butter(only 1/2 cup), milk, and water. For the eggs, I cracked them in another bowl, beat them, then I tempered the eggs by spooning 4-5 scoops of the hot coco/peanut butter mixture into the eggs as I whisk it. I then slowly poured the whole egg mixture into the saucepan as I whisk it. After this I poured the hot mixture into the flour/baking soda/(1/2 tsp salt)/sugar (only 1 1/2 cups)mixture, and mixed. I poured that mixture into a greased pan and placed it into a 350*F preheated oven. Baked for 20 mins and I immediately put the cake in the freezer for 15-20 mins to stop the cooking.(Next time i will bake at a lower heat because I did get a little crust around the cake) For the frosting I just made a regular chocolate frosting using 2oz of german chocolate, 3 tbls butter, milk, and confectioners sugar. Twas soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Hands down the best cake in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
it's very moist and goey in the centre, and the icing is quite something! I got away with much less, thou, beacause they seem not to appreciate too strong an icing presence around here. Fabulous indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
DELICIOUS. Wanting to make a dessert that contained my favorite thing, chocolate, and my boyfriends fav (peanut butter) I decided to try this recipe. He is not much a chocolate person but he even had seconds. This was the most moist cake I have ever made. I did as others suggested and mixed the egg with the dry ingredients. Will make this for our family Christmas dinner and it is sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Block
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This cake turned out perfect! I added the eggs to the sauce pan once I removed chocolate mix from heat, then added to dry as suggested. The cake turned out moist and the icing was delicious. You just poor the icing over the peanut butter once it's cool. Taste like a Reeses PB cup! Next time I'll add Reeses Pieces to the top for some color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Block

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Delicious cake and icing. I added the eggs after was well, good call. Also I added crushed graham crackers and reeses pieces to the peanut butter mixture and used 1/2 the oil suggested. It was great. I also used the reeses pieces to decorate the top of the cake, a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this for a coworker, and they moaned aloud while eating it. I am sure I will be asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Rating this cake on the mixture itself (we do not eat peanut butter) and it is very good. One of the view chocolate cake recipes that isn't loaded with baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States