Peanut Butter and Bran Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I had a craving, found this recipe online and WOW they are delish! so soft and a tiny crunch - perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I used 1/2 cup butter and mixed oat bran with rye bran. Added less 1/2 cup white sugar and that's it. They didn't flatten out. They actually grew a bit. 12 min is more than enough for these so next time I'll try with 8-10 min For first-time-ever peanut butter cookies eating/making I believe it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I was impressed at the good reviews, and I read through them for tips (tip: always read at least a few reviews). This recipe uses some really good ingredients, and can easily be made even a little healthier (which I always do: substitute some butter for applesauce, use less refined sugars, and white whole wheat flour). Anyway, I doubt those minor changes made a big difference in the taste, while fairly healthy already, these cookies need a little something. The bran is not overpowering, but I can tell it's there, and it takes away from your typical sweet and peanuty peanut butter cookie. So maybe add a little more peanut butter, a little bit of salt, and/or chocolate chips, and/or cocoa powder. I made a batch without, then added some later, and I'm so glad I did. I'll be working on this recipe, as I do want to use up my bran and I love peanut butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We love these cookies! I cut the butter in half, use a little less sugar (about 1/2 cup each), and sometimes stir in chocolate chips. They are great both with and without the chocolate chips. As for baking time, I only have them in the oven for about 10 minutes - I keep an eye on them and take the pan out when the cookies look ready. Four stars because of the changes I make. Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
These are so delicious. I use a large portion scoop when making them so they get really big, thin, and crispy. Such a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReallyKatie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I thought these were great! I love them, and my 4+7 yo and husband had no idea there was bran in them. What they don't know is good for them! Definitely will make these again. 13 min was great for my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Have to cut the baking time...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
wonderful!!! I made these for my children for breakfast for a quick on the go morning and they loved them, I just used raw sugar instead of the brown and white. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very good and was able to make a healthier change: 3/4 cup of applesauce instead of the 1 cup of butter! I used Quaker traditional oats, also increased to 1 cup. Used 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder as I don't like the metal taste in the bs. Added 3/4 cup of chopped walnut, which gave it a great crunch. I am taking a star out only because it was a bit cakie/fluffy-chewy and not crunchy and crispy. I recommend scooping it with a tbs and do not flatten it as it does spread a little while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Ouellette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States