Peanut Butter and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This recipe is great and you can modify it to make a filling breakfast. I skip the honey and add about an 1/8 cup of rolled oats. Its so good and fills me up right through lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is even better if you cut the banana in chunks and freeze it before using. Also even better to use 1 cup milk and put in in the freezer for about 45 min or intil it is slushy before making the smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I have been experimenting with smoothies lately and my 8 yr old proclaimed this "The best ever" and said we should make it every day. My one year old really enjoyed it too (I thinnned hers down with extra milk). I doubled the recipe, froze the bananas to add some coolness and just blended the honey in with everything instead of drizzling it on at the end. I think I will cut the honey down next time as I though it was a tad sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I changed the drink to make it more of an after dinner snack or dessert. I suggest adding a tablespoon (or more) of nutella as well as a cup of vanilla ice cream. This made it a cold, frothy and slightly chocolately tasting goodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Having been recently diagnosed with a yeast condition in which I must stay away from sugar, I've been looking for recipes without added sugar. This tasted really more food-like and not so sugary. I used old-fashioned peanut butter and 2 small ripe bananas with 2% milk. It was yummy and satisfying without making you feel bloated from lots of sugar like other smoothies! Thank you Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Fantastic! I loved the texture of the crunchy peanut butter in with this oh so smooth smoothie. I used frozen banana and a little simple syrup instead of honey to sweeten (abt a teaspoon), and about double the milk to bring the smoothie to the right thickness. It was smooth, thick, creamy, and delicious. Definitely one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Awesome! Can't believe I didn't think of it myself. It seems so simple, and is really, really good. Add 3 ice cubes to the blender to make it cool. I don't use the honey, as I find that too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Great! I used regular whole milk and it turned out wonderful. This will be a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Very yummy!! But next time I will freeze the banana first as the entire drink was somewhat warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is a surprisingly filling mid-morning meal. I've made this dozens of times and here are some tips: - Using a ripe frozen banana, you don't really need any added sweetener so I usually skip the honey and it still tastes great. - I use almond milk (unsweetened vanilla) instead of soy which has better, richer taste to it. - Add 1/4 cup of old-fashioned oats, it really thickens the smoothie and makes the drink more filling too. - Experiment with different nut butters. I've also made this with almond, cashew and hazelnut butter, all are great but each has its own unique flavor to it. - If you're looking to watch the calories, you can use a peanut powder instead of peanut butter (just make sure that peanuts are first in the ingredients list).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States