Peanut Butter and Banana Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is a decent frosting recipe, but be aware you can taste the shortening, so if you aren't a fan, you probably should steer clear. Additionally, I wasn't about to dump a pound of confectioner's sugar in this thing without trying it first. I didn't really measure, but since a pound of sugar would've been about 3 2/3 cups (per a google search, anyway), I used nowhere near that amount. I would say I used at most 2 cups but think it was closer to 1 1/2. I'm not a fan of really sweet anything, so I had hubs test it for me and he approved at about the 1 1/2 cup mark. If you love sweet frosting, go right ahead and put it all in, but that would not work for me. I used this to frost the Best Moist Chocolate Cake from here and it worked beautifully. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Super rich and creamy and peanutty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I thought this was going to be messy/runny, but it worked out well. And the flavor was dynamite with a moist banana cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I used crunchy peanut butter and butter flavored shortening. I omitted the margarine because of the above substitution. I figured it would have more stability with more shortening. I did a drop or two of butter flavor. It's a little sweet. I am hoping it will not be so sweet once it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
with slight alterations this is now a five star frosting. instead of milk use heavy whipping cream. beat butters and shortening till light and fluffy then add extracts (i used banana instead of vanilla) then add 3 tbls heavy cream and beat untilstiff peaks form, add 3 cups confectioners sugar 1 at a time until creamy. this frosting will pipe beautifully onto cupcakes and has awesome flavor, its definatly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by occasionally yours

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! This was a great recipe. I didn't add the butter flavor, since I didn't have any. And I mashed the bananas up and added them to the frosting. Was awesome on a chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
DELISH! i halved this recipe and just used 1 stick of butter in the margarine and shortenings place, i used regular JIFF peanut butter, natural peanut butter is too runny. i brought it too a pot luck and everyone LOVED it(used it to frost banana chocolate squares from this site also) its not to sweet even with all that sugar, the peanut butter flavor and bananas really stand out. this recipe is a keeper and definitely adds to any banana recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
First off, I used this recipe to "frost chocolate cupcakes". I was unable to give this a 5 star rating without modifications. The recipe does not state the margarine is too be room temperature or softened before mixing. I assumed with most recipes that is how it should be to cream with sugar. I don't use margarine so I used butter in it's place. After seeing the amount of powdered sugar in this recipe I decided to use ALL NATURAL peanut butter. I RECOMMEND this as the frosting was still very sweet. Also, I added the mashed banana *into* the frosting. The frosting tasted delicious but was slightly runny for cupcakes, so I put in the fridge for 1 hour and it was much easier to work with. THANKFULLY, the taste of this frosting *saved* the cupcakes because they were not good at all. This was so good, I didn't even frost all the cupcakes and we ate the frosting out of the bowl! This frosting REALLY DOES taste exactly like a PB and banana sandwich! I will definitely use this recipe again. (Special thanks to *Cookies* from the Recipe Exchange for recommending this recipe to me)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States