Peanut Butter and Banana French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Huge hit with the kids. I used all organic ingredients where I could, whole grain bread and I served it with homemade maple-vanilla syrup. The kids thought this was out of sight. Like it was Christmas morning. It really was cute. NOTE: I did add a little milk to the egg dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This is so easy to make and yummy. I've made it many times and sometimes for overnight guests too. Everyone was surprised to learn how simple it is. Make sure you use the softest of bread for this. (I only use half the butter and it's more than enough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Yummy! This recipe is such a great idea. I used wheat bread and also added a dash of cinnamon to the egg mixture. This is very rich so be warned -- if you really want to indulge yourself or your kids add a few chocolate chips inbetween the banana slices. I'm sure I'll make this again, but probably not for a while because it is so very rich. But it does add some nutritional value to plain old French toast with syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Peanut butter and bananas are a great combination, but sandwich them between french toast and you have a warm gooey treat for breakfast! I love peanut butter and any new way of eating it -I'll try it! I was a bit liberal with the vanilla and added a little milk, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. I just eyeballed the ingredients, because I've been making french toast for years! Overall, this was very good especially dusted with confectioners' sugar and drizzled with a little maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I absolutely love this! I have always ever since I was little, spread my pancakes and french toast with peanut butter before drenching them in syrup. So many people turn up their nose at the thought of peanut butter on these type of breakfast foods, but when I have gotten anyone to agree to try it, they have liked it more than they thought they would. This recipe is just a better version for me. I am so glad that I found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This was very yummy! A treat for anytime! Great for kids and adults alike. I used cinnamon and nutmeg in the batter this time and it was good. I'll try vanilla next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
What can I say, Kids loved these! I sprinkled a little confectionary suger on top. Kids went to school full and happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
YUM!!! As a kid, I would eat toasted bread, spread with pb and drizzled with syrup. Wish I knew about this one! This is awesome! My picky toddler even loved it. It's a great nutritious treat to start the day off with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I made this because I was out of milk and craving FT. It wasn't as good as I hoped. I love PB on my FT, but the best part of that is when the PB mixes with the maple syrup. So it wasn't quite the same. 3 stars for simplicity and a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I ave two ratings for this recipe, if your feeding adults, I give it only a 3 star, it was ok. But if your making this for only children, then I'd rate it higher, for its a combo they love, and they can help make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States