Peanut Butter and Banana French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Good, rich, a little salty. I took the suggestion of adding cinnamon to the egg mixture (good suggestion) and adding chocolate chips with the bananas both were great suggestions that I recommend as well. Next time I'm going to cut the butter in half or use an alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good, but definitely really really rich. I could really only eat half of a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cairocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I burnt it because I didn't realize how quickly it would brown up, but it should be better for next time. I didn't have any vanilla on hand, so I used some hazelnut powder instead, which added an extra nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Oh my goodness! That was amazing! I usually only have 10 minutes or so fir b fast but this morning I took the extra time to make this receipe. And I was not disappointed. It was super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
When I think french toast, I think sweet, syrupy, messy deliciousness. The texture of french toast was there, but the bread was very bland. I would describe it as just a grilled peanut butter and banana sandwich. If I choose to make these again, I may add cinnamon, syrup, and powdered sugar. Be aware that the serving recorded is for 2 people, but that only makes up 1 sandwich. On a side note, the house now smells really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Huge hit with the kids. I used all organic ingredients where I could, whole grain bread and I served it with homemade maple-vanilla syrup. The kids thought this was out of sight. Like it was Christmas morning. It really was cute. NOTE: I did add a little milk to the egg dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My kids loved this!!! I liked the fact that they were also getting some protein from the peanut butter and fruit from the banana. These cooked up beautifully and the middle was done perfectly. Will for sure be keeping this recipe handy and we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious!! It was a hit with my son as well and I loved it myself. I'll definitely be making this again. Plus, it gives me something to make besides banana bread with my over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFletcher79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Awesome. Made some with peanut butter for my daughter and me and some with just banana for my husband and parents who don't care for peanut butter. Either way it was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is such a unique yet simple twist on french toast that I HAD to try it! My hubby and I found the banana flavor overpowering (and I like pb & banana together), so I think next time I will experiment with pb&j or just peanut butter, or try Nutella. Thanks for sharing this fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States