Peanut Butter and Banana French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
When I think french toast, I think sweet, syrupy, messy deliciousness. The texture of french toast was there, but the bread was very bland. I would describe it as just a grilled peanut butter and banana sandwich. If I choose to make these again, I may add cinnamon, syrup, and powdered sugar. Be aware that the serving recorded is for 2 people, but that only makes up 1 sandwich. On a side note, the house now smells really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Huge hit with the kids. I used all organic ingredients where I could, whole grain bread and I served it with homemade maple-vanilla syrup. The kids thought this was out of sight. Like it was Christmas morning. It really was cute. NOTE: I did add a little milk to the egg dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My kids loved this!!! I liked the fact that they were also getting some protein from the peanut butter and fruit from the banana. These cooked up beautifully and the middle was done perfectly. Will for sure be keeping this recipe handy and we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious!! It was a hit with my son as well and I loved it myself. I'll definitely be making this again. Plus, it gives me something to make besides banana bread with my over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFletcher79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Awesome. Made some with peanut butter for my daughter and me and some with just banana for my husband and parents who don't care for peanut butter. Either way it was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is such a unique yet simple twist on french toast that I HAD to try it! My hubby and I found the banana flavor overpowering (and I like pb & banana together), so I think next time I will experiment with pb&j or just peanut butter, or try Nutella. Thanks for sharing this fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made this for breakfast today and it was amazing. I added milk and cinnamon-sugar to the egg batter (something I do with regular french toast) and used honey-roasted peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiamaty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
this was really good and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
this tasted so amazing. funny story though, i made these during the recent egg recall, and i spent the whole day freaking out like id die, but i didnt so i felt pretty accomplished having made them well enough :D best sort-of-near-death experience ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaelangel07

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have made this for years as a birthday morning treat for each of my kids. Although, I don't add the bananas inside but put them on the top and then add the syrup. It is just different enough and sweet enough (especially with powdered sugar on top) to make them feel like they are getting a special treat before they head of to school. One year my teenager was running late for school and didn't have time to eat it and later said it didn't feel like his birthday without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States