Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My super picky dog went completely nuts over these. These are the very first homemade dog treats that he actually likes. He will do just about anything for the pb and banana treats. I will make these over and over. I like that the ingredient list is short and simple, no extra shopping trips required, and they are very quick and easy to make. The dough is extremely sticky though, I had to use a lot of all purpose flour to be able to roll it out. They do smell a little funky when they come out of the oven I think, my husband didn't think it was bad. But it doesn't matter, I have a very happy dog here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I adapted the recipe by using oats instead of wheat germ. I used 2/3 cup oat flour and 1/3 cup whole wheat. Used 1-2 extra tablespoons of unsalted peanut butter. I then mixed it up with the kitchen aid, rolled it out on a silicone baking mat, cut it (carefully) with a pizza cutter and put the mat on a baking sheet. The entire process took about 15 minutes. The dog seems to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times. This is my Chihuahua's favorite cookie by far. With my 2" bone shaped cookie cutter I get 70 cookies when rolled out to 1/4 in thick. I have also used whole oats in place of the wheat germ. Every dog I have given this cookie to they have asked for more. I also use local raw honey. If the dough is a little sticky when rolling out, just add a little more wheat flour until the stickiness is gone. To preserve the freshness, I refridgerate in an air tight container. This is a very healthy treat and 100% USA made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Dog approved (and a rather picky one at that)! Didn't have wheat germ, so used half ground flax/half ground oats. Subbed 1/2C ground oats for some of the wheat flour. Added enough extra flour while handling/rolling so that it wasn't really sticky anymore. Didn't bother with the egg white. Baked for 30 minutes, then turned off the heat and let partially cool in the oven, which left 1.5" rounds the consistency of a very dry cookie, but not hard or crunchy. This recipe almost filled a standard cookie sheet. Smelled great, a little bland/dry for my taste buds (yes, I tried a bite), but could taste the p.butter and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
My little Chihuahua loved them! Actually my very strange teenage son said they were good too! ROFL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROKDARJELING

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Easy to do and my dog liked them. I doubled the recipe because it said it made 10, but normal recipe size would be plenty. I did use more like 1 1/2 c of flour instead of just 1 because it was so sticky. I also used regular flour and oats instead of wheat flour and wheat germ because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly the first time, and my 2 dogs loved the cookies. The second time I made it, I omitted the honey since I figured that the cookies are probably sweet enough. Easy to make. Next time, I will use oatmeal like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was easy & fun; the dog loves them! I only had white flour, so used it. It seemed to work, although my dough was very sticky. Will get some whole wheat flour for next time, will make them healthier. I didn't roll them out, just balled them and flattened with the bottom of a glass. I will do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I just made these treats for my two Dachshunds and they adored them! I added 1/4C of apple sauce, 1 tsp of Vanilla, and replaced the wheat germ with ground oats. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
The picture that accompanies this recipe is deceiving and it may be carob coating, which is OK, but NEVER EVER dip your dog cookies in chocolate. Chocolate is very toxic to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States