Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made them w/ a small cutter about the size of a 50 cent piece. Made over 6 dozen small treats. Funny thing is our Akita Dru wouldn't touch them UNTIL they were fully cooled. Funny because he loves 'people' cookies right out of the oven. He loves them now! Suggest you roll them between two pieces of wax paper as the dough is VERY sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
How do dogs know when you are making these biscuits that they are " doggie cookies"! I have made them twice and both times when I start putting the ingredients together my dog comes out to the kitchen and sits and watches me make them!! As soon as they come out of the oven she watches and waits patiently until they are cool enough for her to have a sample. Very weird.... Anyway she loves them and since they are so easy to make she will continue to have a supply on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These roll out and shape beautifully! The pups love 'em! I followed the recipe as is. Using a convection oven... It is easy to over-brown them while getting them dry enough not to spoil in the cookie jar. Though I was baking 3 trays at once and my biscuits were less than 1/4". Next time, I will rotate my pans as my oven won't go lower than 300. Very easy! :~D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My sweetheart, Zoey, Loves these. Forget that milk bone you buy from Walmart. This is so much better for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My dogs really love these! I often add flax instead of the wheat germ,depending on whats in the house. Either way both are a hit with my two pups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these for my dogs as well as all our family and close friends as Christmas gifts. They all loved them! I made them as drop cookies rather then rolling them since I was making so many and it was easy and worked well. I also didn't add the honey since it didn't seem neccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe 5 times, each with a slightly different variation (on ingredients as well as the dogs eating them). So the first time, I didn't feel like using flour, so I threw oatmeal into my blender and ground it down to oat flour. This made a very stiff dough that was very easy to roll out, and yielded cookies that cooked up very dry and crunchy, which is what you want when you make a big batch and want them to store a long time. Moisture is the enemy. Mixing this by hand was tough. The next time, I added more banana, which meant more flour, and instead of mixing by hand, I threw it in my bread machine to mix. I would highly recommend this for the lazy cook. My other variations have been minor: adding flax seed, using maple syrup instead of sugar, etc. The big one was changing from regular flour to my "oat flour". I recently made this at my parents house, and they don't have a blender, so I used regular flour since I couldn't make my oat flour. The recipe as above, with reg flour, was *much* easier to mix by hand than the oat flour variation. However, the dough I ended up with was very stretchy, like pizza dough, and would spring back (shrink) while I was rolling it out, which was a little frustrating. The biscuits also puffed up a little bit using regular flour and they didn't using oat. Despite variations, this recipe gets two paws up from a pair of aging dachshunds, my beagle/boxer mix, a black lab, a great dane, a collie, and two mystery mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chattyabbey
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very easy and the dogs love them! I didn't have any challenges rolling the dough out. I then took a pizza cutter to cut the cookies into 1" squares -- very quick! I like to give my dogs crunchier treats so next time I'll either roll them thinner or bake them a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Tried these for Christmas Gifts this year, my dog Scooter loved them. Now I will be making more, thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this for my dogs, and also as gifts for the neighborhood dogs. I put a little more peanut butter, and left out the wheat germ. My dogs and neighborhood dogs LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States