Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My sweetheart, Zoey, Loves these. Forget that milk bone you buy from Walmart. This is so much better for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My dogs really love these! I often add flax instead of the wheat germ,depending on whats in the house. Either way both are a hit with my two pups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these for my dogs as well as all our family and close friends as Christmas gifts. They all loved them! I made them as drop cookies rather then rolling them since I was making so many and it was easy and worked well. I also didn't add the honey since it didn't seem neccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe 5 times, each with a slightly different variation (on ingredients as well as the dogs eating them). So the first time, I didn't feel like using flour, so I threw oatmeal into my blender and ground it down to oat flour. This made a very stiff dough that was very easy to roll out, and yielded cookies that cooked up very dry and crunchy, which is what you want when you make a big batch and want them to store a long time. Moisture is the enemy. Mixing this by hand was tough. The next time, I added more banana, which meant more flour, and instead of mixing by hand, I threw it in my bread machine to mix. I would highly recommend this for the lazy cook. My other variations have been minor: adding flax seed, using maple syrup instead of sugar, etc. The big one was changing from regular flour to my "oat flour". I recently made this at my parents house, and they don't have a blender, so I used regular flour since I couldn't make my oat flour. The recipe as above, with reg flour, was *much* easier to mix by hand than the oat flour variation. However, the dough I ended up with was very stretchy, like pizza dough, and would spring back (shrink) while I was rolling it out, which was a little frustrating. The biscuits also puffed up a little bit using regular flour and they didn't using oat. Despite variations, this recipe gets two paws up from a pair of aging dachshunds, my beagle/boxer mix, a black lab, a great dane, a collie, and two mystery mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chattyabbey
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very easy and the dogs love them! I didn't have any challenges rolling the dough out. I then took a pizza cutter to cut the cookies into 1" squares -- very quick! I like to give my dogs crunchier treats so next time I'll either roll them thinner or bake them a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Tried these for Christmas Gifts this year, my dog Scooter loved them. Now I will be making more, thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this for my dogs, and also as gifts for the neighborhood dogs. I put a little more peanut butter, and left out the wheat germ. My dogs and neighborhood dogs LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I was decided on this recipe for making Christmas biscuits for all my dog friends. I also replaced the wheat germ with oatmeal and dipped them in carob and sprinkles. I ran a taste test with my two dogs against their favorite store bought treats. Both dogs chose to eat these biscuits first. They are easy, cheap, and quick and you know the ingredients are healthy for your dogs too. Lol, I even took a bit out of one to try it. It was very dry, but had great flavor (for a dog biscuit). I am sure your people friends would prefer other recipes on this site much more, but your dog will truly love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I followed this recipe exact and our dogs loved them. I plan on making these from now on, can't imagine buying dog biscuits anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love this recipe! I also used oats instead of wheat germ. And I dressed them up for Christmas. Used Christmas cookie cutters, I dipped the cookies in melted Carob Chocolate (good for dogs) and added some sprinkles to make it fun. It makes a good snack once and a while for my fury babies. I leave the cookies in the fridge, so the chocolate stays fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States