Peanut Butter and Apple Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
My wife loves this sandwich, but I use a cheese slicer to make thin slices of apple to place between the slices of the peanut-buttered bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
An even healthier idea, leave out the bread. Use sliced apples to dip into a little container of PB or cut apple in half, core, then fill each side with PB & put back together before bagging for lunch. Just pull apart before eating. Also, celery sticks filled with PB or cream cheese with raisins on top are a healthy delicious snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Simple and delicious - great for a quick snack! I love peanut butter and apples. It not only tastes good, but it's good for you! I toasted my whole grain bread so the peanut butter go a little "melty" and instead of shredding the apple I just sliced it extra thin. I added just a bit of cinnamon to the apple and it was yummy. I can't wait to try this with crunchy peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Wanted to make another suggestion...try this combination on a tortilla and eat as a wrap. You could also try, for a change, using shredded celery or carrot in place of the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I call this the "apple pie" sandwich! I don't shred the apple but just cut really thin slices and stack as many as i can on the bread. I PB both sides so it will stick together and I add a little cinnamon!! YUMMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
this was one of my favs as a child, bananas work well to, and to make this meal or snack into an activity the kids can make there own, spread peanutbutter on one piece of bread and have cut apples, bananas, and even cereal ready for them to put on top, you can toast the bread to make it easier for them to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This is a great alternative to regular PB&J. I like thinly sliced apples and a few raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
i was delighfully surprised at how good this sandwich was! I used natural peanut butter and granny smith apples (the only apples I had on hand). The refreshing crunch and taste of the apple added a nice flavor. Will definately make again when we need a quick lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
We love this sandwich and have made them for years with Granny Smith apples and crunchy peanut butter! Absolutely a nice alternative to the regular PB&J. We also sometimes substitute banana's for the apple! That is fantastic, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I loved these when I was a little kid. My mom would sometimes add a few raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States