Peanut Butter Tandycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
This recipe not only is very easy to prepare, it makes a moist, delicious cake that chocolate/peanutbutter lovers are sure to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This tastes just something I used to buy in Philadelphia. I have made these numerous times and always get raves for them. I gave one to my grouchy UPS man, and he is now unbelievably friendly. A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Not a bad treat. Everyone seemed to like it, although my son thought it was a white cake! It is more a pale yellow. In consideration of the reviews, I only put in 12 oz chocolate (2 bags of Christmas bells melted down) and added about 1TB of peanut butter. This made the chocolate topping less hard and easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISCOKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I have made this at least a dozen times. It is delicious. Very easy to make. Every one will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I have been making this recipe since 2001. It's always requested by family members for various parties. I have one in the oven now. I melt milk chocolate chips instead of the bars. Also, I melt more than the actual recipe calls for. Also, I bake at least 23 minutes. It has never cooked for me in 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was excellent. I tried this square at a picnic a couple of weeks ago and loved it so much that I came online to get the recipe myself. I made it last night for a babyshower. The recipe was easy to prepare and turned out wonderful. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
As a native of the Philadelphia area where Peanut Butter Tandycakes are a staple, I was anxious to try this recipe. I thought it was a reasonable approximation of a Tandycake, and all those who tried them liked them. I would recommend not putting the peanut butter on the cake when it's right out of the oven because the peanut butter melts too much and accumulates in a thicker layer near the edges of the cake. Allowing it to cool just a little would probably work better. I trimmed a little bit from all around the edges of the cake before I cut it because they seemed a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
i use this recipe at home except i only use 1 3/4 cup sugar, 1 cup pb, and melted hershey bars (about 1 lb) i also melt the pb because if you put it on and try to spread it on the hot cake sometimes it will tear the cake. 30 seconds in the microwave and a stir and it goes on fast and easy. you will NOT be disappointed with these--better than the tastycake brand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed in this cake. I love peanut butter and chocolate, but this cake didn't cut it. The cake had an odd texture, really chewy, almost like rubber. I agree with the user who said that the peanut butter needed to be sweetened. Plus, 2 cups of peanut butter was way too much. I heated it to help it spread and it oozed over the sides of my pan. Even though I greased and floured my pan, the cake still stuck. Sadly, this isn't a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Since I didn't actually use the cake recipe provided here, I'm not sure if I'm entitled to rate it, but here goes: I used a Jiffy yellow cake mix and baked it in an 8 by 8 pan (they're small mixes), then spread about 3/4 cup peanut butter on it. I broke up one of the big Hershey bars and put the pieces on top, then set it in the turned off oven for a couple minutes to melt the chocolate and spread it over the cake. The amount of chocolate was perfect and I had no problem cutting it, even when cooled. This was very easy and yummy, I only wish I had tasted a real Tandy Cake before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States