Peanut Butter Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I thought this was very good. After reading several reviews I did make a couple slight alterations. 1) Used 1 C white sugar and 1 C brown sugar (instead of all white in recipe) 2) Omitted the vegetable oil the recipe called for and increased Peanut butter to 3/4 C, and 3) I doubled the icing recipe. At first I thought doubling the frosting was going to be way too much, but it was the perfect amount for a 10 x 15 pan. I probably would have been angry if I used the icing recipe as written. Last, I waited until the cake was done before I started making the frosting, because I didn't want it to set up before the cake was done. Cake was still plenty warm when the frosting was ready to pour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made this recipe for our crowd at work. To say they loved it is an understatement. I got so much praise and there wasn't a bite left. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I would use a larger sheet pan as the 10 x 15 didn't leave room for the frosting. I inverted it onto a tray and carefully frosted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Excellent moist dense cake..it's annoying when reviewers change a recipe totally and tell every minute detail they did so why not just post it as a new recipe..I don't see how they can rate a recipe they have totally changed..for those that didn't use the icing recipe that came with this cake recipe buy instead used a buttercream pb icing. .u don't know what u were missing. .this icing was like pb fudge..awesome. .the only change would be to double it..those that said this cake was bland makes me wonder if they can cook at all..excellent flavor..some say pic cakes often too dry then turn around and say this one too oily??? Perfectly moist and not oily at all..I hardly think 1/4 cup of oil I'd gonna be too much..lol awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I enjoyed it very much. But I fixed double recipe for the icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Kimberly
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I made it gluten free too! (It's not a fad for me, I actually cannot digest it.) Everyone loved it-no one had any idea it was gf. I used part almond meal, part oat flour and quinoa flours- I did use a 1/2 cup of Pamela's baking mix in addition to the flour called for to ensure a good rise. I did use the previous bakers' recommendation to use applesauce in place of some of the oil and upping the peanut butter. I'm glad I did! So moist! Will make again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this recipe for my mother's birthday last night, and it was the best tasting cake I have ever made!! Seriously!! I substituted the peanut butter topping with milk chocolate frosting.. tasted like a peanut butter cup.. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
GREAT RECIPE! I'm not a baker, but this was easy and turned out delicious. If you like a lot of icing, you may want to double that portion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I love Texas sheet cake. I took one look at the picture & said "YES! I want this for my birthday!" I sent the recipe to my mom who made it & when I saw it - it was not the cake in the picture. The recipe calls for crunchy pb & the picture is very smooth. The pic is also thick with frosting but the reality was not. The flavor of the cake was oily & light on PB flavor while the frosting was okay (it would be better as a buttercream & not a melted marshmallow). People ate & liked it but was expecting something much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Delicious! I love that it makes a 10 x 15 pan. I made it for a soup kitchen and people kept asking for the peanut butter cake. It was easy to make, the texture was very good, and the taste was wonderful. I will be using this recipe often when I need to take a dessert somewhere,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have not yet actually eaten the cake but wanted to make a review based on Chellebelle's suggestion as I made the icing recipe she provided and not the one as provided with the recipe. I followed the cake recipe exactly and although I had to let it bake a bit longer than the recipe indicated, it turned out perfectly. While it was baking, I made chellebelle's icing (using crunchie peanut butter) and while cake was still hot I covered the cake. It had cooled slightly but spread beautifully on the hot cake. I then made a hot fudge sauce (1-14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk combined with 1 cup choc chips melted in a sauce pan over medium heat until smooth then add 2 tbsp butter = Yummy hot fudge sauce!) Then poured some of the sauce into a zip lock plastic bag, cut a very very tiny hole on the end and drizzled the hot fudge over the cake. Super easy and looked great! Put the rest of the hot fudge sauce in a container in the fridge to be warmed again later over ice cream. I tasted the icing and it is delicious!! Will review the cake later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States