Peanut Butter Sandwich Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Although I didn't think it tasted much like peanut butter, the pro's far outweighed this small con. The pro's being: very simple ingredients that you always have on hand, and it being a delicious, dense, moist bread. I'd planned to freeze 1/2 the loaf, but ended up eating the entire loaf within a few days. Went great with some honey drizzled on top and a cup of tea on the side; with butter and coffee in the morning; with blackberry jam and a glass of milk for an afternoon snack. My friend even smushed up a ripe banana and spread that on her slice of bread. A great basic bread that you can dress up with just about any imaginable topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN-Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Very peanut buttery, some friends thought to much so. I thought it was EXCELLENT with jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I am a huge peanut butter fanatic and this bread makes the best peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I've ever tasted. The kids have asked for it every day. I did follow another reveiwer and up the peanut butter to 1 cup and I added a tsp of vanilla. And I've never owned a pastry blender, so I did the old fashioned trick of cutting through it with 2 knives. My mom made this and the first time it didn't turn out well, but she simply stirred the peanut butter into the flour mixture, the second time she used the knife method and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
My kids like this with PB&J. My husband thought it was great plain with coffee. Me personally thought it was a little bland, but I believe it is made to be eatten with something on it. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
My grandchildren [and me too] love this bread. I had never heard of peanut butter bread before. Thank's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Its was a big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Like a cookie/bread. Took advice from other member by substituting 1/2 cup of milk for 1/2 cup of sour cream. Yummy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This bread is sooo cool. Just top it off with Jam and you have a less sticky and very yummy pb & j sandwich. I used light crunchy peanut butter and it is really good. My husband thought it was really good too. next time I might try it with bananas and have peanut butter and banana sandwich loaf. Thanks! Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Nice recipe, but I'm giving it four stars cause of the changes I made. I read that some found the peanut butter taste was bland on its own and one said the bread was dry and crumbly. I made the following changes to the recipe and it came out nice and moist with a peanut butter taste that makes it good to have on it's own. I used 1 heaping cup of peanut butter, used 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1 cup and used the other half in sour cream and added a teaspoon of vanilla. It resulted in a tasty, moist bread. Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
fun for kids such a sweet loaf . no fail as usual. Truly, Marcella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States