Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This candy is super delicious and sweet. My mother use to make this for me when I was little, I made it for my children and then grandchildren. It's always a big hit. Do NOT alter this make as directed. Thanks for reminding me of my childhood Brandilynn. Brings back so many memories. I would give this a 10 if available. Keep this refrigerated after you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Love this recipe! It's a traditional Irish recipe that my family made for years around the holidays. I use more than 1/3 a cup of peanut butter because I like a thick layer (and I like the peanut butter with the honey because the flavor is wonderful and it's easy to spread.) Make sure that you put this into the fridge until you are ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
A favorite recipe from my childhood! My mom made this for Christmas, to put on the cookie tray and it was always one of my favorites, because I love peanut butter so much. I did not measure the peanut butter for this recipe, I just spread a generous layer on top of the potato/sugar layer. You definitely want to keep this in the fridge until you are ready to serve. I keep it in an air tight container, with wax paper in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe, as another reviewer said, exactly...well, something was amiss. It was a blob of soft dough that even after 1 hour in refrig it was nearly impossible to roll out. I had to add at least 1 1/2 to 2 cups more sugar(and it should have been more) in order to roll it. Then the peanut butter was so hard to spread! I needed much more than 1/3 cup just to cover the dough. Then the act of rolling the dough, it was more like pushing it into a form of a log. Shish! Not really worth the frustration, even if it is an Irish tradition. And in the end, it just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I couldn't believe how easy this candy was! Make sure to add enough powdered sugar to get the potato portion to a dough that is easy to roll, and not too sticky- I think I added a little more than 16oz. And use more than 1/3 a cup of peanut butter. I probably spread on a full cup (I LOVE peanut butter and wanted a thick layer but I would say 2/3 a cup would be the perfect amount). I actually rolled the outside with dark chocolate shavings before I sliced it and it turned out really good and made it look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I must be stuck on stupid today. My daughter came home from school today and told me she needed a cultural dish for her class potluck, TOMORROW. I panicked at first but my Dad suggested I make potato candy like my grandmother used to make when I was little. A little online research brought me to this recipe and the reviews that raved about how easy it was. Well here it is ten o'clock at night and I have watery sugary potato soup. I followed the directions to the letter and somehow ended up with nothing even close to being able to be served to my daughters class. Guess it is time to head to the grocery store and find something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is one of those recipes from my mother's childhood that was never written down. A few modifications - forget measurements! Start with only HALF of a small boiled potato (peeled and mashed), add a lid of vanilla and mix. Then add 3 large spoons of powdered sugar and mix up a little, let set for a few minutes. When you come back, the sugar and potato mix begins to melt! Keep adding and mixing in powdered sugar until you get a pie dough consistency. This takes a lot of powdered sugar and mixing - it's a great arm workout. Once pie dough consistency is met, sprinkle powdered sugar on a clean dry surface, rub on hands and then roll out the dough to about a 1/4" thick. Then use CRUNCHY peanut butter spread over the surface. Roll up the dough, cut into 3 sections. For each section, roll it out until less than 1.5" in diameter. Do so for each segment (or wrap and store in fridge for later) then cut into bite size slices. Store in fridge. The crunchy peanut butter adds texture and keeps the entire thing from being too runny or so sweet. Some people even add shredded coconut. I wonder what adding dark chocolate shavings would do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yummy! (and super easy!) This candy is very sweet so I decided to use natural peanut butter. The natural peanut butter with the potato/sugar layer complemented each other perfectly! Do what other reviewers mention and increase the peanut butter (I probably used double the suggested amount.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Such a simple and sweet candy. I did what other reviewers suggested and added more than the 1/3 a cup of peanut butter- I ended up spreaing about 2/3 a cup on it. I also rolled this out on a silicone baking mat that was generously dusted with powdered sugar and this it super easy to roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandilynn7
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe from grandma (I think it came from a cookbook from the 1960's) but honestly my family does not measure the peanut butter- we just spread a nice, thick layer on it (more than the recipe calls for). You definitely want to sprinkle a generous amount of powdered sugar out on the cutting board or waxed paper when rolling out the dough. The dough can be sticky, but adding more powdered suar will fix this- do not add additional milk or vanilla and use thick, homemade mashed potaoes for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States