Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I tried making this recipe twice (the first time with a similar recipe)... this time I let it sit over night in the fridge, and still had a goopy mess. I'd love know what to do to fix it, I don't want to give up, but am tempted. I hate throwing food away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love this recipe, I use spreadable fruit, my favorite is strawberry. Very sweet and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriseliz299

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Friendly tip: DON'T add milk. Not that it's impossible to make the dough with milk, it is just so much easier to get the desired texture if milk is not added. Most recipes do not call for milk, and milk is most likely the reason for the soupy mess many got. If milk is added, more sugar will likely be needed. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
It was awful, a blob of soft dough and a big mess, if you chilled it, it was too hard, and then it was too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Definitely needs way more sugar than called for. I had a 32 oz bag, so I doubled the potatoes, milk and vanilla. Guess I should have just left it alone, because I ended up with soup even after 48 oz of sugar. This recipe needs to say to add confectioners sugar UNTIL it forms into dough. Not just a set amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe, but never could reach dough consistency! I added 2 more cups of powdered sugar, PLUS I added about 1/2 cup of all purpose flour. That created the dough ball, I regfrigerated, then rolled out, but it has to be done quickly as the sugar starts to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe exactly and it turned into a blob. If someone could please share with me how this "dough" is suppose to be firm enough to spread peanut butter on it, I would be very appreciative....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Do not refrigerate dough worse thing you can do. No refrigeration is needed consequences are horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and like others I ended up with a semi-fluid mess of half liquid sugar and mash potatoes. It never firmed up and I had to throw it away because it was inedible. I did a little research but could not for the life of me figure out why this was. Maybe it's cause I added the powdered sugar when the potato was still warm/hot? But it doesn't say anything in the recipe about chilling the potato once mashed. So I'm at a loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This is an old-fashioned recipe that is fun to make with the kids (as long as you do not mind messes! I use 1/4 cup of store-bought mashed potatoes, 1/2t vanilla and about 1 1/2 pounds 10X sugar. I keep milk handy in case it gets too thick, but I've only ever had to use a teaspoon or two. Otherwise, you get the potato soup the others were complaining about. And be generous with the peanut butter- otherwise, it can be a bit sweet. I'm addicted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States