Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Love this recipe! It's a traditional Irish recipe that my family made for years around the holidays. I use more than 1/3 a cup of peanut butter because I like a thick layer (and I like the peanut butter with the honey because the flavor is wonderful and it's easy to spread.) Make sure that you put this into the fridge until you are ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Such a simple and sweet candy. I did what other reviewers suggested and added more than the 1/3 a cup of peanut butter- I ended up spreaing about 2/3 a cup on it. I also rolled this out on a silicone baking mat that was generously dusted with powdered sugar and this it super easy to roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This candy is super delicious and sweet. My mother use to make this for me when I was little, I made it for my children and then grandchildren. It's always a big hit. Do NOT alter this make as directed. Thanks for reminding me of my childhood Brandilynn. Brings back so many memories. I would give this a 10 if available. Keep this refrigerated after you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yummy! (and super easy!) This candy is very sweet so I decided to use natural peanut butter. The natural peanut butter with the potato/sugar layer complemented each other perfectly! Do what other reviewers mention and increase the peanut butter (I probably used double the suggested amount.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
A favorite recipe from my childhood! My mom made this for Christmas, to put on the cookie tray and it was always one of my favorites, because I love peanut butter so much. I did not measure the peanut butter for this recipe, I just spread a generous layer on top of the potato/sugar layer. You definitely want to keep this in the fridge until you are ready to serve. I keep it in an air tight container, with wax paper in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My little nephew loved this candy and I loved the taste and the fact that it was super easy to make. I took the advice of another reviewer and made this with natural peanut butter, which was perfect with the sweet powdered sugar/potato layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I couldn't believe how easy this candy was! Make sure to add enough powdered sugar to get the potato portion to a dough that is easy to roll, and not too sticky- I think I added a little more than 16oz. And use more than 1/3 a cup of peanut butter. I probably spread on a full cup (I LOVE peanut butter and wanted a thick layer but I would say 2/3 a cup would be the perfect amount). I actually rolled the outside with dark chocolate shavings before I sliced it and it turned out really good and made it look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandilynn7
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe from grandma (I think it came from a cookbook from the 1960's) but honestly my family does not measure the peanut butter- we just spread a nice, thick layer on it (more than the recipe calls for). You definitely want to sprinkle a generous amount of powdered sugar out on the cutting board or waxed paper when rolling out the dough. The dough can be sticky, but adding more powdered suar will fix this- do not add additional milk or vanilla and use thick, homemade mashed potaoes for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I will be making this again very soon. The ingredients were simple and I have them on hand at all times, and the candy turned out delicious. I did use a lot more peanut butter, because I LOVE the stuff and wanted a really thick layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Love this recipe. Yeah, sometimes you have to add way more sugar then you thought or sometimes way less. It always turns out to be a favorite at a party though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States