Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Oh dear! Very hard to form dough and if you continue adding sugar it gets way too sweet. My husband described this candy to me...his late mother made it when he was a kid...and he has been asking me to make some. After looking at the ingredients I was afraid it was going to be a disaster. If you really want to try this, maybe start with half a batch and see what happens. For those who try it and end up with a sticky mess- you may be able to salvage your ingredients by remelting whole mixture- then stir in rice krispies or other cereal and press into balls. Try this in a small way at first too...to be sure it will hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
When I was a child my mother would make this candy if we had leftover mashed potatoes. I don't remember her using vanilla extract, but that was a very long time ago. For Christmas you can roll it in red or green colored sugar to coat the outside and make it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I love this recipe... however, you have to make sure the mashed potato is cold or else one of two things happen.... potato soup or 3 lbs of sugar is needed :) Been there and done that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Blalock Marsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
The tricks to potato candy 1 mash ur tator with vanilla and milk then let it cool down. 2 START WITH 1lb powdered sugar then continue to add more till it gets kinda like a pie crust texture. IT WILL TAKE AT LEAST 1 1/2LBS OF SUGAR! 3 there is no set amount for the peanutbutter. use what ur family likes. 3 you can omit vanilla and use any flavoring you like! roll the potato mix like ya would if making a snake out of dough. cut off in coin size pieces and dust them with powdered sugar. 4 you dont have to use milk. use your flavoring for a more intense flavor. Potato candy is all about mixing till your arm falls off with adding your favorite flavors or add in. if its soupy add more of the sugar or if its getting to sweet then use instant tators mixed with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I've made Potato Candy in the past, and since have lost that recipe. This recipe looked right, so I gave it a shot. Like many others here, my mixture was nothing but soup and completely unusable…then I evaluated the situation and realized why. Here's what's wrong with this recipe: The recipe calls for 1 (16 ounce/1 pound) package of Confectioners Sugar…THIS is nowhere near enough. If you shop at Wal-Mart, you'll notice that their bag is (32 ounce/2 pounds), this entire bag is what you should be using, not half of it, or your typical 1 pound "box". In addition, a little adjustment to the directions- 1. After mashing your potato with vanilla and milk, refrigerate it then, not after it's dough- the cold dough is too hard to work with. 2. After your mashed potatoes have cooled off, mix in half of the sugar all at once. (it's ok if it's soupy at this point) Then, after that is mixed, dump in the rest of the sugar all at once, and mix. (this time it should make dough) 3. Do Not refrigerate your dough before you try to roll it, your dough should be workable right out of the bowl. Chilling the dough will just make it harder to work with. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I tried making this recipe twice (the first time with a similar recipe)... this time I let it sit over night in the fridge, and still had a goopy mess. I'd love know what to do to fix it, I don't want to give up, but am tempted. I hate throwing food away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love this recipe, I use spreadable fruit, my favorite is strawberry. Very sweet and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriseliz299

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Friendly tip: DON'T add milk. Not that it's impossible to make the dough with milk, it is just so much easier to get the desired texture if milk is not added. Most recipes do not call for milk, and milk is most likely the reason for the soupy mess many got. If milk is added, more sugar will likely be needed. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
It was awful, a blob of soft dough and a big mess, if you chilled it, it was too hard, and then it was too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Definitely needs way more sugar than called for. I had a 32 oz bag, so I doubled the potatoes, milk and vanilla. Guess I should have just left it alone, because I ended up with soup even after 48 oz of sugar. This recipe needs to say to add confectioners sugar UNTIL it forms into dough. Not just a set amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States