Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
We used to make this with my grandma from South Carolina. It IS painfully sweet, but fun to make and pretty yummy in SMALL quantities (like less than a whole 1/4" slice!). Fond memories earned this an extra star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
OMG, don't do it :/ It was like sickeningly sweet potato soup and I used TWO lbs of powdered sugar and it still melted right off of the waxed paper. My kids are so sad and I am too. It wasn't cheap wasting all those ingredients. I'm going to try again for them tomorrow but I'm going to make the dough my own way. This definitely isn't right and the recipe needs to be fixed or removed before people waste even more food and money :( Wosh I could give it NO stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellye8498
Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I always thought this was a family recipe. I guess not. Really you don't need the milk or vanilla just mashed potatoes and confectioner sugar milk maybe if you put to much sugar in. And you don't have to refrigerate dough before adding the peanut butter just after. If your husband is like mine you can use hazelnut spread as well. I like it either way. The internet does know all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Starr DeVall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Favorite childhood recipe from my mother. I have used cream cheese instead of potatoes - delicious! Be sure to use more powdered sugar in recipe and put a LOT on the waxed paper to roll out. The only time I refrigerated was after it is rolled and before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Oh dear! Very hard to form dough and if you continue adding sugar it gets way too sweet. My husband described this candy to me...his late mother made it when he was a kid...and he has been asking me to make some. After looking at the ingredients I was afraid it was going to be a disaster. If you really want to try this, maybe start with half a batch and see what happens. For those who try it and end up with a sticky mess- you may be able to salvage your ingredients by remelting whole mixture- then stir in rice krispies or other cereal and press into balls. Try this in a small way at first too...to be sure it will hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
When I was a child my mother would make this candy if we had leftover mashed potatoes. I don't remember her using vanilla extract, but that was a very long time ago. For Christmas you can roll it in red or green colored sugar to coat the outside and make it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I love this recipe... however, you have to make sure the mashed potato is cold or else one of two things happen.... potato soup or 3 lbs of sugar is needed :) Been there and done that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Blalock Marsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
The tricks to potato candy 1 mash ur tator with vanilla and milk then let it cool down. 2 START WITH 1lb powdered sugar then continue to add more till it gets kinda like a pie crust texture. IT WILL TAKE AT LEAST 1 1/2LBS OF SUGAR! 3 there is no set amount for the peanutbutter. use what ur family likes. 3 you can omit vanilla and use any flavoring you like! roll the potato mix like ya would if making a snake out of dough. cut off in coin size pieces and dust them with powdered sugar. 4 you dont have to use milk. use your flavoring for a more intense flavor. Potato candy is all about mixing till your arm falls off with adding your favorite flavors or add in. if its soupy add more of the sugar or if its getting to sweet then use instant tators mixed with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I've made Potato Candy in the past, and since have lost that recipe. This recipe looked right, so I gave it a shot. Like many others here, my mixture was nothing but soup and completely unusable…then I evaluated the situation and realized why. Here's what's wrong with this recipe: The recipe calls for 1 (16 ounce/1 pound) package of Confectioners Sugar…THIS is nowhere near enough. If you shop at Wal-Mart, you'll notice that their bag is (32 ounce/2 pounds), this entire bag is what you should be using, not half of it, or your typical 1 pound "box". In addition, a little adjustment to the directions- 1. After mashing your potato with vanilla and milk, refrigerate it then, not after it's dough- the cold dough is too hard to work with. 2. After your mashed potatoes have cooled off, mix in half of the sugar all at once. (it's ok if it's soupy at this point) Then, after that is mixed, dump in the rest of the sugar all at once, and mix. (this time it should make dough) 3. Do Not refrigerate your dough before you try to roll it, your dough should be workable right out of the bowl. Chilling the dough will just make it harder to work with. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I tried making this recipe twice (the first time with a similar recipe)... this time I let it sit over night in the fridge, and still had a goopy mess. I'd love know what to do to fix it, I don't want to give up, but am tempted. I hate throwing food away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States