Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe, but never could reach dough consistency! I added 2 more cups of powdered sugar, PLUS I added about 1/2 cup of all purpose flour. That created the dough ball, I regfrigerated, then rolled out, but it has to be done quickly as the sugar starts to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe exactly and it turned into a blob. If someone could please share with me how this "dough" is suppose to be firm enough to spread peanut butter on it, I would be very appreciative....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Do not refrigerate dough worse thing you can do. No refrigeration is needed consequences are horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and like others I ended up with a semi-fluid mess of half liquid sugar and mash potatoes. It never firmed up and I had to throw it away because it was inedible. I did a little research but could not for the life of me figure out why this was. Maybe it's cause I added the powdered sugar when the potato was still warm/hot? But it doesn't say anything in the recipe about chilling the potato once mashed. So I'm at a loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This is an old-fashioned recipe that is fun to make with the kids (as long as you do not mind messes! I use 1/4 cup of store-bought mashed potatoes, 1/2t vanilla and about 1 1/2 pounds 10X sugar. I keep milk handy in case it gets too thick, but I've only ever had to use a teaspoon or two. Otherwise, you get the potato soup the others were complaining about. And be generous with the peanut butter- otherwise, it can be a bit sweet. I'm addicted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is one of those recipes from my mother's childhood that was never written down. A few modifications - forget measurements! Start with only HALF of a small boiled potato (peeled and mashed), add a lid of vanilla and mix. Then add 3 large spoons of powdered sugar and mix up a little, let set for a few minutes. When you come back, the sugar and potato mix begins to melt! Keep adding and mixing in powdered sugar until you get a pie dough consistency. This takes a lot of powdered sugar and mixing - it's a great arm workout. Once pie dough consistency is met, sprinkle powdered sugar on a clean dry surface, rub on hands and then roll out the dough to about a 1/4" thick. Then use CRUNCHY peanut butter spread over the surface. Roll up the dough, cut into 3 sections. For each section, roll it out until less than 1.5" in diameter. Do so for each segment (or wrap and store in fridge for later) then cut into bite size slices. Store in fridge. The crunchy peanut butter adds texture and keeps the entire thing from being too runny or so sweet. Some people even add shredded coconut. I wonder what adding dark chocolate shavings would do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Love this recipe. Yeah, sometimes you have to add way more sugar then you thought or sometimes way less. It always turns out to be a favorite at a party though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I've never eatin this candy, but my husband has been asking me to make it because his grandmother used to make it for him. I only used 1 tablespoon of milk and that was the perfect consistency. Next time I won't use the vanilla and go ahead and use the other tablespoon of milk to even it back out. It would've been ok, but the vanilla was too powerful for us. Nothing a few little changes can't fix though! Defiantly be sure to have enough sugar around to put on the parchment paper or wax paper whichever you use to keep it from sticking. I also chilled mine in the freezer for about 10 minutes each time it said to refrigerate to speed the process up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My aunt use to make me a large can of this when I was a little boy. Hoping I can get my wife to make it for me ! Miss her and her candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blairs, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I must be stuck on stupid today. My daughter came home from school today and told me she needed a cultural dish for her class potluck, TOMORROW. I panicked at first but my Dad suggested I make potato candy like my grandmother used to make when I was little. A little online research brought me to this recipe and the reviews that raved about how easy it was. Well here it is ten o'clock at night and I have watery sugary potato soup. I followed the directions to the letter and somehow ended up with nothing even close to being able to be served to my daughters class. Guess it is time to head to the grocery store and find something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States