Peanut Butter Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Very tasty! I love peanut butter, but I don't like peanut butter pies that have the cream cheese fluff. This pie has lots of peanut butter flavor without being too rich. I couldn't get the egg whites with sugar to form stiff peaks - they were more like marshmallow fluff, but it baked up fine. I'll definitely use this recipe again. I may recommend putting it in a chocolate crumb crust. I referred my mom to the recipe and she let me know that you can make the custard easily in the microwave. Just stir it after a minute or two until it's thickened. So much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I use whole eggs in the custard and do NOT top with the meringue. Everyone requests that I bring this to all pot-lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE27
Living In: Monticello, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I've made this recipe for years, but I only use 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar on the bottom mixture. I use Cool Whip on the top, and sprinkle it with Peanut Butter/Confectioner's sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This recipe is the REAL deal, the best peanut butter pie I have ever made! I didn't change a thing in the recipe, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I've been making this recipe for years, and it's excellent. I also use this basic recipe, along with some homemade peanut butter cookies and whipped Cream, to make a killer trifle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyman213
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Directions are perfect, so the result is a delicious treat. Remember to cut small slices as this is intended to be a rich pie. This is a real peanut butter pie and the cooked custard is the proof! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
If you're looking for a cream pie that has a powerful p.b. flavor, try Peanut Butter Pie I. This one was a fine pie, though. The cream layer takes about 10 min to thicken on medium heat, another 10 to get the egg whites to the hard peak stage; the recipe is worth the time. The only change I made was to use an Oreo crust at the behest of my husband. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My Mom owed Ruths Restaurant in Pearl MS for 36 years and she served this pie, People came and ordered it for holidays!! I just found this for my cousin who wanted to make it also! Thanks. It is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I wonder if that Florida restaurant was Bradenton's Amish restaurant Miller's Dutch Kitchen. This looks and tastes just like it. I can't tell you how many times I bought a slice to go for my husband. If he was with we were too full we would still buy a slice to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Millie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Just what I was hoping for. Followed directions exactly and got the perfect peanut butter pie...the only thing that might make it better...chocolate custard? Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States