Peanut Butter Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ABEACH
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
When I was growing up, my father’s favorite pie was a peanut butter pie that he could only get at a restaurant someplace in Florida. This pie is exactly the same and it made him soooooo happy the first time I brought it over. Now he constantly calls me to ask me to make 2 pies, one for him and one for a neighbor. Thank you S_ST for helping me to make my difficult father so happy!! This pie is very easy to make, and I follow the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipe was a difficult one to rate. I had this last minute idea to make a peanut butter pie for my husband on Valentine's day and this was the only recipe I could find that I had all the ingredients for. We definitely enjoyed the pie, but it's definitely not a traditional peanut butter pie. I agree with other reviewers that this pie should be called something more like peanut butter custard pie. So, I'm not a huge custard fan and I'm not sure if I'd ever make this again. BUT, the pie did taste pretty good, especially the second day. If you like peanut butter and you like custard, then this pie is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Very tasty! I love peanut butter, but I don't like peanut butter pies that have the cream cheese fluff. This pie has lots of peanut butter flavor without being too rich. I couldn't get the egg whites with sugar to form stiff peaks - they were more like marshmallow fluff, but it baked up fine. I'll definitely use this recipe again. I may recommend putting it in a chocolate crumb crust. I referred my mom to the recipe and she let me know that you can make the custard easily in the microwave. Just stir it after a minute or two until it's thickened. So much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I've made this recipe for years, but I only use 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar on the bottom mixture. I use Cool Whip on the top, and sprinkle it with Peanut Butter/Confectioner's sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Yummy! I love this pie. It tastes great without being too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This recipe is the REAL deal, the best peanut butter pie I have ever made! I didn't change a thing in the recipe, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This pie is delicious, but most of my family complained that it was very rich, and a bit too sweet. No one cleaned their plate. My advice: Don't serve too big a piece as it is too rich to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it! It had just enough of the peanut butter to give it great flavoring. My husband was expecting a lemony tasting pie because of the meringue, but was very pleased with the peanut butter taste. He asked me to make another one soon. The pie crust was a little soggy, though, and separated from the filling while cutting, but no one seemed to care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is a very deliciously SWEET pie!!! Easier to make than I expected. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
My husband just raves over this! The only thing I do different is I use more egg whites and carefully fold some into the filling with no cream of tarter. Gives the filling a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States