Peanut Butter Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was good. I didn't do the meringue, I just put the 3 eggs, whole, into the custard. The first time I ate it, it was still a bit warm and I cut the slices too big, and I thought it was okay, but after being refrigerated overnight it was better. You don't want to keep it too long though because it gets a bit soggy. I'll probably make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I really appreciated that this was a peanut butter pie without cream cheese or whipped cream. When I split the peanut butter mixture, it seemed like I had way more than I needed to sprinkle on top of the meringue--next time I would probably leave only 1/4 of it for the top of the pie. Also, I'd say that this would be equally delicious with or without the meringue topping, but it looks prettier with the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
If you're looking for a cream pie that has a powerful p.b. flavor, try Peanut Butter Pie I. This one was a fine pie, though. The cream layer takes about 10 min to thicken on medium heat, another 10 to get the egg whites to the hard peak stage; the recipe is worth the time. The only change I made was to use an Oreo crust at the behest of my husband. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABEACH
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
When I was growing up, my father’s favorite pie was a peanut butter pie that he could only get at a restaurant someplace in Florida. This pie is exactly the same and it made him soooooo happy the first time I brought it over. Now he constantly calls me to ask me to make 2 pies, one for him and one for a neighbor. Thank you S_ST for helping me to make my difficult father so happy!! This pie is very easy to make, and I follow the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipe was a difficult one to rate. I had this last minute idea to make a peanut butter pie for my husband on Valentine's day and this was the only recipe I could find that I had all the ingredients for. We definitely enjoyed the pie, but it's definitely not a traditional peanut butter pie. I agree with other reviewers that this pie should be called something more like peanut butter custard pie. So, I'm not a huge custard fan and I'm not sure if I'd ever make this again. BUT, the pie did taste pretty good, especially the second day. If you like peanut butter and you like custard, then this pie is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Very tasty! I love peanut butter, but I don't like peanut butter pies that have the cream cheese fluff. This pie has lots of peanut butter flavor without being too rich. I couldn't get the egg whites with sugar to form stiff peaks - they were more like marshmallow fluff, but it baked up fine. I'll definitely use this recipe again. I may recommend putting it in a chocolate crumb crust. I referred my mom to the recipe and she let me know that you can make the custard easily in the microwave. Just stir it after a minute or two until it's thickened. So much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I've made this recipe for years, but I only use 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar on the bottom mixture. I use Cool Whip on the top, and sprinkle it with Peanut Butter/Confectioner's sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Yummy! I love this pie. It tastes great without being too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This recipe is the REAL deal, the best peanut butter pie I have ever made! I didn't change a thing in the recipe, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This pie is delicious, but most of my family complained that it was very rich, and a bit too sweet. No one cleaned their plate. My advice: Don't serve too big a piece as it is too rich to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States