Peanut Butter Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JME
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I ate a pie like this at a fair and ot was wonderful and I searched forever for a similar recipe. I found this one and it's perfect. also, this is the first pie I have ever made and it was awesome!!! I chopped up some chocolate chips and added those to the peanut butter mixture, which was even more delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Family loved it, but very sweet. Was nice to find a recipe where every ingredient was already in my pantry. Will make again, will cut back on sugar as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is the best peanut butter pie! The only change I make is to add about 1/2 cup peanut butter to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made this with slight variations for "Pi" day and it was a HUGE hit with my family! I dont think I'd ever had a peanut butter pie of any sort before, and I was blown away! I reduced powdered sugar to 3/4 c as mentioned by some reviewers and it was still plenty sweet for us. I cooked the pudding in the microwave. I used almond and coconut milk and a gluten/dairy free home made crust. Thanks for such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennr
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Winner winner after dinner! The peanut butter balanced perfectly with the thick custard and light meringue. I used most of the pb mixture on the bottom and sprinkled a circle on the top, leaving a center of toasted meringue - very pretty. Tip: if you're having trouble with your meringue separating, be sure your eggs are room temperature. I started by separating my eggs and leaving them on the counter while the crust was par-cooking. Also, don't wait too long before starting to add the sugar to the whites, the sugar needs to dissolve before it's stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I made this pie and thought I followed it exactly. I checked on it the last 5 minutes or so and it seemed the sugar had separated and was seeping out. Any insight on what I did wrong? I'm not sure if it was coming from the meringue or the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Schoonover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is hands down the best peanut butter pie recipe I,ve ever tried I did change it a little to keep the corn starch and egg yokes from clumping. I mixed the cornstarch,sugar and salt together first then added gradually to the milk I already heated to a boil stirring con.then cook over med.heat 2 min. till thick and bubbly. Take off heat add a small amount to egg yoke mix and pour back in pot cook 1 min.stirring con.add peanut butter and va.this way also takes off baking time you only have to brown top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I felt the eggs weren't necessary. They clumped together on top. They should have just been mixed in with the entire filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dustmans
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made this the other night and it was amazing, I used an Oreo pie crust that happened to be sitting around, I'm going to try it in a casserole dish with a small increase in the recipe size using crushed chocolate graham crackers. What they don't mention is how amazing this is with the layers, crust, peanut butter and powdered sugar melted together into a crunchy layer, the custard, meringue then another crunchy layer on the top. Make it, it's magic in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My husband's comment was "This one is fabulous! and besides that it's really good :)". A real hit at our house to say the least. I didn't change a thing. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Millville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States