Peanut Butter Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Absolutely. Best. Dessert. On. The. Planet!!! I love this!! The version I have calls for cool whip rather than meringue (yuck) - it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is an excellent pie for peanut butter lovers but I'll agree with the other reviewers that it is very rich. I love that you make your own custard in this versus a store bought pudding. I am not a an of meringue so I also substituted it for homemade whip cream. By making the whip cream with less sugar it was a great balance to the sugar and salt of the remaining pie. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This pie didn't look like a peanut butter pie, but it tasted awesome. My family loved it. Followed the directions exactly as written. Very rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
The recipe I have is a little different, mine calling for 4 egg yokes, but I added 1/4 cup peanut butter to the custard after it was cooked to give it more of a peanut butter taste. It was delicious! I also do not like meringue at all, so I used whipped cream (can use cool whip) to top the pie with and then sprinked the peanut butter/confectioners sugar on top. It was out of this world! If you are a peanut butter lover like I am, you will love this pie! Also, I made my pie with a home made graham cracker crust. This pie is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My 10-year-old immediately proclaimed, "This one's a keeper, Mom!" I followed the proportions exactly. Only change I made was in the assembly: Put in most of the peanut butter/sugar mixture in the bottom of the baked crust. Save a couple of tablespoons for the topping. Another note: take care in spreading the meringue on the custard. For a very stiff meringue, trying to spread it over the custard can displace the custard, causing it to push itself over the edge of the crust. I suggest you drop small amounts over the entire custard surface, then spread carefully to create a uniform covering. Really very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Update: MY FIL loved the first piece but said the second was too much. This makes a VERY rich pie. In addition to the pie crust, there is a layer of sugar and peanut butter, then a layer of vanilla pudding, then merginue, then more peanut butter and sugar on top. VERY GOOD but VERY RICH! Not sure I would make again unless someone requests. Probably best saved for a holiday pie. (: Thanks for the post! Original review: This is definitly a labor of love type of recipe! I had a sink full of bowls, pans, spoons, scrapers at the end! My 9 year old picked this recipe all by himself to make for his Pawpaw as a thank you. I was thinking more of a no-bake pie, but he ended up picking this one that used the oven twice. (: Will update on taste, it did make a beautiful pie! Will post a pic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is the best. Much better than the cream cheese based peanut butter pie. My mother's been making this for years and now my children love it, as well. When made with quality, natural, and organic ingredients, it is divine, although not altogether healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This pie is absolutely delicious. I make it every Thanksgiving and Christmas. My husband won't let either holiday pass without one, and guests always rave! It's more work than some of the others listed on this site, but the outcome is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States