Peanut Butter Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I needed a quick dessert for an impromptu dinner and decided to try this recipe. It was absolutely delicious and a big hit. I did make a few minor adjustments based on feedback from a friend of mine who made it. I cheated and used a Keebler chocolate crumb crust (something I rarely do but was pressed for time). I decreased the sugar to 3/4 c and increased the whipping cream to 1.5 c to make it a little fluffier. I also popped it in the freezer for a few hours before serving. Wow!!! I'll certainly be making this again and again and again....well, you get the picture! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Awesome pie! I did it a little differently though. I used a deep dish pie crust, baked it, let it cool, then applied melted chocolate chips to the crust. I put the crust in the refrigerator so the chocolate would solidify. Then added the peanut butter pie filling. It was a huge hit with everyone. Thank you for sharing this one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I just won 1st place (and $50!) at the company's pie baking contest with this recipe. The only alteration I made was to double the cookie crust (that's the best part in my opinion). And I decorated the top with reeses peanutbutter cups. Yee haw! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Wow...wow. This was so incredible! It was so tasty and just like light, rich silk on the tongue. This is the PERFECT peanut butter pie. I followed directions except for using half brown sugar and a tad more vanilla. I whipped the cream in my stand mixer, put it onto a different bowl, the heck out of the cream cheese/butter/sugar/PB mixture until it was incredibly light and fluffy, then folded in the whipped cream. It was SO light. I can think of all kinds of things to do with this. Adding some melted chocolate or white chocolate chips and folding them in, or a tablespoon of chocolate syrup. Or better yet, swirling in some chocolate syrup with a butter knife to create pretty patterns. Adding a tablespoon of chocolate liqeur, chopping up some peanuts and adding them to the crust, using crushed peanut butter cookie crumbs along with the chocolate ones (or doing a layer of each) ... and so on. This is going into my "favourites" recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This pie was excellent!! I used a premade graham cracker crust also. I made it the day before and used a tub of cool whip instead of heavy cream, I also added a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and crumbled reeses peanut butter cups to top, I left in freezer over night and then took out and put in fridge until serving that afternoon. It was creamy and decadent. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Half an hour after he was done eating it, Hubs was still talking about how “D” good this pie was. There are a lot of similar peanut butter pie recipes, but the differences in this one pay off in a big way – a homemade rather than purchased cookie crust and real, fresh whipped cream rather than “frozen whipped topping.” All are easy to make but the couple of extra steps it takes to use these higher quality ingredients are worth it. This is a dessert for serious dessert and/or peanut butter lovers. Thick and rich (but not overly sweet), a little goes a long way. Yet no sooner do you finish it and you’re already thinking about your next piece! A garnish is pretty – chopped peanuts perhaps, mini chocolate chips, crushed cookie crumbs or, as I did, a drizzle of chocolate syrup and some chopped peanut butter cups. Be careful not to overdo it, however! The pie is so rich that any more than a sprinkle to dress each slice up would be serious overkill! Because you’ll cut the slices small, one pie will serve quite a few people! Hubs and I only have two more days in Naples to eat this before we head back home, but I know my plan to have the remaining pie waiting for us in the freezer when we return in a couple of weeks will work out very nicely. Note: For those familiar with the famous peanut butter pie from the Old Ebbitt Grill in Washington D.C. - Hubs said this is "unequivocally better."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
HEAVENLY......thank you so much for sharing this with me. I made minor changes. Store bought crust and instead of heavy cream, I used cool whip. I put this is the fridge and not the freezer and topped with crushed Reese's peanut butter cups. This was so creamy and so rich. A small slice goes a long way, but this was so easy and presented beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
OH MY GOSH! What a pie. This pie will make a puppy pull a train it's that good. I used an Oreo pie crust and put a layer of milk chocolate on the bottom of the crust then put the filling on top of that. I topped with chocolate syrup in lattice pattern. I make 2 pies for a church dinner and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I can't figure out why some reviews don't show 5 stars! I would give this 10 if I could. EASY, not too rich (we substituted cool whip topping) with a fresh peanut butter taste. Delicious! We like to freeze & just thaw for 15 minutes and serve with a drizzle of caramel, chocolate syrup and whipped cream (or Cool Whip)on top. My favorite dessert! Note: I had a piece of this leftover from yesterday, but it was thawed. I thought it was too sweet and didn't really love it. So... in my opinion this should be eaten as a FROZEN PIE and topped with chocolate syrup to really enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
this was terrific! my boyfriend loves peanut butter cup sundaes, so i figured this pie would be perfect for him, and i was right! i melted some white chocolate and put a layer of it on the bottom of the chocolate crust (which i cheated and bought an oreo pre-made crust). I also put a border or crushed oreos around the edge and marbled chocolate syrup along the top. it looked great, smelled great, and tasted great! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States