Peanut Butter Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Half an hour after he was done eating it, Hubs was still talking about how “D” good this pie was. There are a lot of similar peanut butter pie recipes, but the differences in this one pay off in a big way – a homemade rather than purchased cookie crust and real, fresh whipped cream rather than “frozen whipped topping.” All are easy to make but the couple of extra steps it takes to use these higher quality ingredients are worth it. This is a dessert for serious dessert and/or peanut butter lovers. Thick and rich (but not overly sweet), a little goes a long way. Yet no sooner do you finish it and you’re already thinking about your next piece! A garnish is pretty – chopped peanuts perhaps, mini chocolate chips, crushed cookie crumbs or, as I did, a drizzle of chocolate syrup and some chopped peanut butter cups. Be careful not to overdo it, however! The pie is so rich that any more than a sprinkle to dress each slice up would be serious overkill! Because you’ll cut the slices small, one pie will serve quite a few people! Hubs and I only have two more days in Naples to eat this before we head back home, but I know my plan to have the remaining pie waiting for us in the freezer when we return in a couple of weeks will work out very nicely. Note: For those familiar with the famous peanut butter pie from the Old Ebbitt Grill in Washington D.C. - Hubs said this is "unequivocally better."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a wonderful peanut butter pie recipe. I added just a splash of milk to the peanut butter mixture, since it was very thick and might have been too much for my hand mixer to handle. I also used a store-bought crust, since I was pressed for time, but I'm anxious to try it with the homemade crust. It had a creamy texture (frozen or just chilled) and a robust peanut butter flavor (I used all natural unsweetened peanut butter). This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The family loves this desert. I found it simple and fast to prepare, especially using the pre-made crust. The suggestion, however, to melt chocolate chips and line the crust did not turn out so well because the crust was very difficult to cut. I also added about 1/4 c. white chocolate chips to the batter.That made for a nice surprise. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is wonderfully good! I have tried the kind with Cool Whip before and hated those, the heavy cream in this sets it apart from the nasty Cool Whip ones. I did use less sugar in the filling because I tend to like things a touch less sweet -- I used 3/4 cup white sugar instead of a full cup. Thanks for the recipe, I had several requests from guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
For simplicity I used a Graham cracker crust & cool whip, but when it was served it was well recieved and praised...my son asked me to use nutella next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Everyone loved this! Even better the next day (if it lasts that long)! I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
A very tasty and easy to make pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLDCell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
OMG, I made this as per the recipe...ohhh yummy !!! I passed some out at my local Legion and their reviews were 10 star, will surely be making this again ( I did cheat on the crust...used a purchased graham wafer one..still A1 ) |Thanks Stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is delicious. It's also easy to make dairy-free for an allergy. Instead of butter I use unsalted Fleishman's sticks and for the whipping cream, I use Rich Whip. Great recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Oh my goodness!! This is heavenly. I bought a Keebler chocolate crust just because I like to make everything easier. The pie is like a cheesecake. It is so good! I definitely will be making this for many years to come. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrensville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States