Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
My family loved these cookies. I use butter in cookies instead of shortening and also added raisins. I have a request to always have these baked and handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
these were the best peanut butter cookies i've ever had. i made them twice, once i did not press them down as hard, and they were nice and chemy, and the second time i flattened alot and they were wonderfully flaky. gotta try these.. using butter makes them nice and buttery tasting..lave them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly only added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a cup chocolate chips. They won't eat anything in my house without chocolate in it. My cookies were not crumbly and dry at all they were chewy and moist. I did use a reduced fat peanut butter I don't know if that had anything to do with it and the shortening I used was butter flavored. This recipe was a great way to "hide" the whole-wheat flour, usually you have to use a blend of white and whole-wheat flour. The peanut butter was prominent which masked the taste of the whole-wheat and the oatmeal masked it's grainy texture. I thought these cookies were plenty sweet enough. The only thing I would like to reduce is the amount of shortening by replacing it with apple sauce to make it a slightly more healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent. No wheat flour after taste. I substituted a half cup applesauce for shortening, added a cup of chopped nuts and a couple handfuls of raisins. After the first panful, I added a third of a cup of sugar to the rest, which made the rest much better. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
Fairly healthy and tasty cookies. Not too sweet. Makes large batch and the cookies freeze well. Good with milk or coffee. Could be more peanutbuttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This is a great recipe. When I made it, I used honey roasted peanut butter and added semi-sweet chocolate chips (3 cups with the original recipe). If you add the chocolate chips, be sure to reduce the brown sugar by 1/4 cup. Otherwise, you will have some really sweet cookies! NOTE: If you reduce the recipe to make 2 dozen (with chocolate chips), then a 1/3 and 1/4 cup of brown sugar works. That's what I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These cookies were soooooo good! I only put 1 cup of butter and I only had 1 cup of peanut butter so I added 1/4 cup olive oil to the recipe. I also added 2 handfuls of chocolate chips. Those are the only changes I made and they turned out fantastic. My whole family loves them. I will definetly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I'm 12 years old and this recipe was delicious and was easy to make! I loved it and so did my family. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
These were delicious. I did use canola oil instead of shortening. But, the peanut butter flavor did overpower the oatmeal flavor a tad, so next time I will use half as much peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcg777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
these cookies were a hit. loved the unexpected compliment of the peanut butter and oatmeal together. I added some seasoned applesauce, used all butter, and also added craisens and dried blueberries and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States