Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My new favorite cookie recipe! I did 1 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I changed it up a bit. I used 1 cup chunky peanut butter and 1/2 cup of macadamia nut butter. Butter instead of shortening and I added all the left over chocolate candy from Easter.....Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and it's a no-fail effort, even at Denver's altitude. I have added raisins, chocolate chips, cinnamon, butterscotch chips, and combinations, all with great success. When I prepare this recipe, I like to use natural crunchy peanut butter and increase the salt by 1/2 tsp, since I use shortening and not butter — it adds to the flakiness and pie-crust-like texture of the cookies. A great variation I've found is to omit 1/2 cup of brown sugar and put turbinado or white sugar on top. I do this by carefully shaping balls of dough and pressing them into a plate containing sugar. It's a wonderful crunchy top for these surprisingly light and delicious cookies. One thing the recipe doesn't mention is DON'T OVERMIX when adding dry ingredients to the shortening mixture. The cookies come together just fine, and are flakier when mixed until they just come together. What an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Delicious. Even though mine lacked the vanilla extract they were still yummy and fluffy. First time I've had fluffy peanut butter cookies. Next time I'll be putting in some dates or prunes, to add a little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These cookies were highly eloquent and full of spunk. They ozed with serendipidy! We added semi sweet chocolate chips and baked thirteen or fourteen min. We recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
These are awesome peanut butter cookies. I like that they use wheat flour and oats and they stayed soft and chewy. I only made half a batch which yielded plenty of cookies for our family of 5. After baking 2 batches, I added in some peanut butter chips for the last batch, and those were even better and, of course, the first ones eaten. So now we will add those in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I used butter instead of shortening, and only used 1 cup instead of 1 1/2 cups. I used old fashioned oats, because that was what I had on hand. They turned out great!! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Good cookies have made these a few times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My family really enjoyed these cookies! My husband loves oatmeal cookies and I wasn't sure how he would like peanut butter/oat combo but he really, really liked it (said they were one of the best he's had)! I used butter (just don't use shortening) and all natural peanut butter. My son wanted me to add raisins per suggested by other reviewers and I was happy with that addition. I think they would be great without too. No one had any idea that these have whole wheat flour :) I made the dough; baked one dozen and individually froze the other 2 dozen. I have since pulled out a dozen to bake when needed and they turned out well! Great way to resist eating too many in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe and found the cookies to be too sugary. I was hoping that with ingredients like oatmeal and whole wheat flour these cookies would have been more wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States