Peanut Butter, Mayonnaise, and Lettuce Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
If you ever want a laugh, spend some time on AllRecipes browsing all of the different peanut butter sandwich combinations. I love how many different "weird" sandwiches were family favorites, and considered totally normal! Ours was this one, with a slice or two of american cheese added. Use real mayonnaise, and super-crisp iceberg lettuce. For some reason, this has always appealed to me on the kind of not-so-good mornings that sometimes come after really, really good nights out. I think it's the combination of the rich, salty mayo and cheese, the sweet peanut butter and the crisp lettuce. Just seems to hit all the right spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My absolute, most favorite sandwich. When I was in labor with my 19 year old, the doctor asked what the last thing I had eaten. Of course, it was peanut butter and mayonnaise. He replied that pregnant women eat the strangest things. My DH told him I ate it even when not pregnant. I think it grossed the doc out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I was speechless when I saw this recipe, I had to call my husband in to see it! I have been telling him for years that we used to make these great sandwiches, but he never believed me. I love them and this recipe is right on! It does seem "all wrong" but it is great! Thank you for bringing back some wonderful memories...I will start making them again! Try them, you will be surprised and pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This sandwich was just okay. I was concerned about the combination of mayo and peanut butter but thought I'd give it a try. Only got through 2 bites and that was enough for me. I didn't think the mayo really added any real taste to the sandwich. I didn't like the lettuce and peanut butter combo. My son even gave it a try but after 2 bites he wasn't going to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My mother introduced this sandwich to me when I was just a kid (about 8). It was a depression era recipe for something nutritional and cheap. To this day it is my favorite sandwich. The original recipe she used on me was peanut butter, Miracle Whip, lettuce and tomatoe. Sounds discusting but I used to take it to school for lunch and all my friends that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
this just sounds so wrong. I couldn't bring myself to try but a friend of mine liked it. She did creamy peanut butter, i couldn't imagine crunchy. I do like peanut butter & pickles. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I have been making this sandwich for the past 20 years and my mom has been making this for the past 40 years. It is a traditional sandwich in my family. HOWEVER, that being said we only use Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Mayo is way to bland for this and it does not compliament anything in this sandwich. (And I am a mayo fan.) For those who do not like this sandwich. Try it with the Whip and prepare to be plesantly suprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrubik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Suprisingly good in a weird kinda way..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Been eating this for years. You need nice, really fresh bread and crisp lettuce to make it perfect. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Haha~ I didn't know anyone else made these :o) My mom will be thrilled. So honestly if I hadn't had this sandwich as a child I would probably rate it ** but it's comfort food for me. Miracle whip is the way to go and crispy iceburg lettuce. I'm curious if it's a regional thing: I grew up in the Northwest & everyone here thinks it's disgusting. My family is from the Midwest & everyone seems to have grown up eating them there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States