Peanut Butter, Mayonnaise, and Lettuce Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
My family has always been teased for eating peanut butter and mayo sandwiches! I'm relieved to find out that there are more of us "weird" people out there :) We have never tried it with lettuce though, so we will look forward to that addition. You MUST use REAL mayo (Best Foods) and San Francisco sourdough bread. It's divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I nearly fainted when I saw this - not because I thought it sounded bad, but because I grew up eating peanut butter sandwiches nearly the same way!!! Not with mayo, but with Miracle Whip (hurray for the other reviewer who thinks it's great, too!). And - I kid you not - until I was a grown woman, I thought that this was how peanut butter sandwiches were made. My husband thinks I'm totally off my nut and refuses to try it, but our three kids love it! Three cheers for peanut butter and Miracle Whip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Suprisingly good in a weird kinda way..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I LOVE Peanut Butter and I am always trying to find new ways to eat it. I enjoyed this sandwich though I recommend crunchy PB and adding a slice or two of ham or turkey. Wish I would have had some pickles on hand to top it all off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My absolute, most favorite sandwich. When I was in labor with my 19 year old, the doctor asked what the last thing I had eaten. Of course, it was peanut butter and mayonnaise. He replied that pregnant women eat the strangest things. My DH told him I ate it even when not pregnant. I think it grossed the doc out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I was speechless when I saw this recipe, I had to call my husband in to see it! I have been telling him for years that we used to make these great sandwiches, but he never believed me. I love them and this recipe is right on! It does seem "all wrong" but it is great! Thank you for bringing back some wonderful memories...I will start making them again! Try them, you will be surprised and pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
this just sounds so wrong. I couldn't bring myself to try but a friend of mine liked it. She did creamy peanut butter, i couldn't imagine crunchy. I do like peanut butter & pickles. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My mom and my adult daughter both love this sandwich. I can't get up the nerve to try it, it just sounds wrong. But my mom has been eating these for 45 years, my brother, and even my grown kids eat these sandwiches all the time, so they must be really good. Yeah, even with the lettuce... as odd as that sounds. I was as surprised as the last reviewer to find this recipe posted, but my mom would be delighted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Think I'll pass on this 1...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
awesome. Just give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickjayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States