Peanut Butter, Mayonnaise, and Lettuce Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
GodivaGirl: You beat me to posting this recipe, though we always called it "Peanut Butter, Lettuce, and Mayonnaise." I grew up with this sandwich, and now my kids have, too. They've asked for it often since they were old enough to ask (they're 12 and 14 now). Even their friends at school like it. Something to note: use very crisp lettuce, and use a generous amount of all ingredients - they should all be approximately equal. A TBS of Mayo and PB are not enough, nor is two leaves of lettuce. I'd say 2-3 TBS of the spreads and four leaves of lettuce. Love love love this sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claribelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This sandwich is delicious!! My dad has been eating them for years. We always thought he was nuts. I finally decided to give it a try and I had to call him to take it all back. He isn't nuts after all!! This is terrific and will be a regular for me. Dad says he prefers Miracle Whip too, but I only had mayo on hand. Will try with that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I laughed when I saw this recipe. Never in a million years would I have thought to put mayo and PB together!! First thought was GROSS. Then I remembered how I ate really strange things in growing up in Taiwan but they were delicious!! So curiosity got the best of me. I only had baby argula around which I think gave it a strange taste, but I still gobbled the whole sandwich up! Next time I will try it with iceberg. Everyone out there, don't judge til you try!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I have been eating Peanut butter, cheese and mayo sandwiches for years. I never thought to put lettuce on them. I will next time. My husband thinks I am nuts, but it really is a great Sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I was looking for something else when I came across this. I used to love this sandwich; only I add tomatoes. My kids thought it would be gross and discovered it's as yummy as a BLT(only healthier Mom). They are grown and still love this sandwich. Toasted or untoasted, if you like peanut butter, you will love this and may never go back to a traditional BLT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I am 65 and have been eating these since I was a kid. I still have them often and the addition of the lettace is good. I eat them when nothing else sounds good to me, it is a staple when I don't feel just right. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My mother introduced this sandwich to me when I was just a kid (about 8). It was a depression era recipe for something nutritional and cheap. To this day it is my favorite sandwich. The original recipe she used on me was peanut butter, Miracle Whip, lettuce and tomatoe. Sounds discusting but I used to take it to school for lunch and all my friends that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I have used this recipe for years, only fix it on toast and use Miracle Whip instead of Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is my Favorite sandwich. If only my BFF would get off her high horse and try it. She would liberate herself!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States