Peanut Butter, Mayonnaise, and Lettuce Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Been making peanut butter/bacon/cheese sandwiches for years, never tried adding mayo & lettuce though! Will be making these for a quick supper tonight! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
my mom used to give this to me as a kid. she's full of bizzar food combo's. Its nice to see that someone else is as crazy as she is. This sandwich is gross sounding, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have to agree with Shrubik - Miracle Whip is a VAST improvement over mayonnaise in this recipe. The Miracle Whip adds a lot of flavor that the mayo lacks and compliments the peanut butter's taste very well. This has been my favorite meatless sandwich since elementary school in the '50s and Mom said they began to appear in the mid-1930s when Kraft introduced Miracle Whip and Depression-weary folks were looking for something cheap to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I have been making this sandwich for the past 20 years and my mom has been making this for the past 40 years. It is a traditional sandwich in my family. HOWEVER, that being said we only use Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Mayo is way to bland for this and it does not compliament anything in this sandwich. (And I am a mayo fan.) For those who do not like this sandwich. Try it with the Whip and prepare to be plesantly suprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrubik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This sandwich sounds terrible, but when I was growing up, my family went on day trips to the Great Smoky Mountains and we always took a picnic lunch. The highlight of the meal was peanut butter, mayonnaise, and raisin sandwiches. Mom ground the raisins before adding them to the peanut butter and mayonnaise. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
hmmm....okay then... surprisingly good. Unusual but good. My daughter who is 4 liked it and she added some sliced pickles. Not as amazing as the other reviews but when the pantry is empty it'll be part of my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluheelr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this sandwich as a joke, because my son and I thought the recipe was hilarious. And yeah, it tastes like white bread with peanut butter, mayo and lettuce...exactly as you would expect. I won't make it again, but we did get a good laugh out of it. ROFL; LMAO; LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
OMG!!!! I thought my daughter was absolutly CRAZY this morning when she told me about this: it was 7:30 am, and I was making Cam (my daughter a PB&J for her lunch. She walks into the kitchen and tells me that Grammie, (my mom) taught her to make sandwiches like Papa Wayne made them, with peanut butter and SALAD.... she said that Papa Wayne taught Grammie and Aunt Cindy and Aunt Julie to make sandwiches this way: "spread the peanut butter on the lettuce and put in on bread". I was pretty sure she was thinking of celery and peanut butter, so i dismissed it as her being imaginative.... UNTIL I ASkED MY MOM!!!!! apparently, My Papa used to make this all the time for my mom and aunts.... who knew!!!! My daughter loves it, and after trying it, i must say, its quite tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This sounds like it should taste gross, but it's quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The BEST sandwich ever! Real comfort food that we have enjoyed for the past 40 years. P&M must be made with real Mayonnaise such as Hellmans. I've made it with white, wheat, rye and italian bread and it has always been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States