Peanut Butter Marshmallow Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I find the nuts "out of character" for this square. This is similar to the one I make. 1/4 cup butter melted in saucepan with 1/2 cup peanut butter. Stir in 1 cup butterscotch chips until melted. When cool enough so marshmallows don't melt, mix in 1 small bag of coloured marshmallows (227 gr.). Turn into greased 9"x9" pan. Cool and cut into 1" bars. Always the first thing to go at our bake sales! HINT: Sprinkle coloured marshmallows around bars when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
this is the kind of sweet treat that dreams are made of!!! I have made these for many years and they disappear off the plate almost instantly. heaven!! the only thing I do differently is no nuts or coconut. mmmm! ( I have to add a note to this review after reading the review of this recipe by a MIRABLUE!! bakers, do not be put off by her review. this is one of the five top square recipes ever! delicious and always a huge, huge hit!! the melding of the peanut butter and butterscotch is just so intensely wonderful. try it and you will not be sorry!I can not say enough about the excellence of this square! PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I hate to be the first to give bad reviews but I really have to on this one! I made the recipe as is and it's just terrible. I guess I'm an old fashioned cook but I like my flavors to compliment eachother and this "snack" was the exact opposite from what I desire. My husband put it perfectly when he said that you could take a spoonful of each ingredient, eat them simultaneously and that would be your outcome. I thought it was disgustingly sweet and I honestly had to brush my teeth after eating them! I do not recommend this one, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Love this recipe! Except,I use Rice Crispies instead of coconut and it makes for great texture and flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Loved the recipy! I remember eating these squares as a kid at my family reunion! I just never had a recipy for them! This recipy was very easy to follow. JUST DONT ADD THE COCONUT OR WALNUTS! They are not suppose to be made with coconut and walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
these turned out really well. i followed the directions exactly but it would have been better to pour the peanut butter mixture over the marshmallows. other than that they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
The overall taste was good. I personally thought there were too many flavours in an old favourite of mine. I think I will leave out the walnuts when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
this was a good idea. i changed a few things... i left out the coconut and instead of walnuts i used peanuts. i doubled the ingredients and poured a layer of the peanut butter mixture (that i didnt not add the actual peanuts to) on the bottom of the pan, followed by a thin layer of marshmellow cream topped with a layer of peanuts, then i poured the rest of the peanut butter mixture over that, plus any remaing peanuts i had and i added the marshmellows to the top after it had cooled off a bit to avoid them melting completely. they turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I can't stop eating these! I made these for a party that I am bringing a sweets tray to, and I thought I would sample one first to "make sure they were ok." I have eaten about 4 already! I also omitted the coconut and walnuts, but added rice krispie cereal instead. It added a great crunch and that mixed with the creamy fudge and the soft marshmallows is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I grew up with this recipe......So easy and so good. I havent found a child or adult that hasnt loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberis2cute

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States