Peanut Butter Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
We love these snacks. Sometimes, I vary this up and use Reese's peanut butter chips or either dark or semi sweet chips in place of the butterscotch chips. It's all a matter of what you like or have on hand. The kids LOVE to make these. NOTE: I rarely keep wax paper on hand, I just drop them on tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I have been making these for 13 years. They are my husband's favorite dessert. SO easy and wonderful!! At Easter, I make them deeper around the edges, with a depression in the middle and put 3 small jellybeans in the center. They look like small birds nests. Really cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
The best haystacks recipe! Be careful about the amount of peanut butter--it will still taste great, but may get sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I replaced the peanuts with rice krispies and marshmallow. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Unbelievably simple and delicious. After tasting at a cookie swap, I immediately looked up the recipe. I followed others' advice and flattened mine a little to make easier to bite. Had to chill mine to get them to totally harden, but I doubled the recipe and may have gone heavy on the peanut butter. Will DEFINATELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was my first time making Haystacks and they turned out great!!! I didn't have a double boiler, so I melted my butterscotch chips & peanut butter in the microwave. I've made this recipe twice in the last 2 weeks. Second time, I doubled it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
this is a great cookie....another variation is to use a few milk choc. chips along with the butterscotch and leave out the p.b.....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Tastes great every time. Great use for the organic peanut butter that has separated and is now a big peanut blob at the bottom of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Wow these are great. Easy to make. Made them for a Christmas Cookie Exchange.Had people calling and asking for the recipe. If you like the combination of sweet and salty this is the one for you. Will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Love this recipe! My mom has been making these for Christmas for as long as I can remember. However, I have never had them with peanuts before...she always mixes in M&M's instead. SO GOOD! Also, be sure you let the peanut butter and butterscotch cool just a little before adding in the M&M's or they will melt. The recipe she gave me was 1 12 oz package of butterscotch chips, 2/3 cup peanut butter, 1 cup M&M's and 3 oz can of chow mein. I buy a little more than 3 oz's and just add until it looks good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States