Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Mine turned out really good! I had read through the comments, and had taken the advice of some of the other readers regarding getting the fudge to harden properly. First of all, I only used one 7 oz jar of marshmallow cream (1.5 cups). Secondly, I had to boil it a bit longer to get it to soft ball stage, which is where fudge has to be in order to set properly. Instead of 5 minutes, it was more like 6 or even 6 1/2 minutes. You don't have to use a candy thermometer, but at least look on the 'net to see how to test for soft ball stage. One final tip: Mix your peanut butter, marshmallow cream and vanilla all together in a heat-proof bowl while you are boiling the other mixture, and then pour the boiling mixture over the peanut butter mixture in the heat-proof bowl. If you don't, you'll end up with scorched, dark bits of peanut butter throughout your fudge. It doesn't affect the taste, but it does take away from the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura_lee_76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is very creamy and yummy. Beware however, that a 7 oz. jar of marsh. creme is only about 1.5 cups. I just added some mini marshmallows to make up for it (they took a while to dissolve though, so I won't do that again). It doesn't cut very nicely, but I guess that's the price you pay for such a moist and creamy fudge. It doesn't say whether to put it in the fridge, so I did to see if it would cut easier, and it did. Thanks so much Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was my first try at making fudge - nobody in my family makes it and I thought I'd give it a go! This was the easiest, most idiot-proof recipe I could find. No thermometers, no "soft-ball" knowledge required. The fudge was creamy and fattening - just the way fudge should be! I got rave reviews from my workplace and my husband's co-workers as well (couldn't keep it in the house for fear of having to buy a new wardrobe!). One hint to people who want to try it: Mix all your "non-cooked" ingredients before cooking the rest of the mixture; the cooked portion cools quickly and if you aren't careful, you could end up with a sugary concrete mixture in your pan. I'll be using this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is a fabulous fudge when done correctly. However, the above recipe is a tad incorrect which is why everyone is having issues with it setting up and not tasting peanut buttery enough. I ALWAYS double this recipe because it tastes so much better that way. When doubling use 2 1/2 cups peanut butter, and a large jar of marshmallow fluff. Do a full rolling boil for 5 minutes. The grainy taste happens when you don't do the boil long enough. When pouring into the pan, the fudge should not be more than 1/2 inch to an inch thick. If its too thick it won't set .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Quick and Easy. This is the best fudge my family has ever tasted. If its PButer Fudge you want than this is it. Although, the first time I made it, we only had one cup of Mrshmllw Cream and it was more PButtery. Try and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
i tried this recipe becauce of the 5 star rating as i have with other fudge rec. i found this one to be very easy and with 4 kids i need simple and great tasting it is the best one i have found yet thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
After 31 yrs. of marriage, I could never make a good "batch" of fudge until I used this recipe. It is so easy because there is no dropping the sample into a cup of cold water to check for the "ball" to form. Very easy and quick. Now everyone loves to hear me say "I think I will make a batch of fudge(they used to make jokes)". Everyone on my "gift list" will get fudge. Haha. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Good, but not as creamy as I had hoped. For those who have had problems with it not firming up, be sure to start the 5 minute timing only after it comes up to a full, rolling boil, meaning one that can't be stirred down. Adding a bit of salt (1/8 tsp) helps make the flavor pop. Makes a nice, deep 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I'd never even attempted fudge until last night at midnight, and felt completely overwhelmed as I read through all the recipes demanding "soft ball" tests and the like (I don't have a candy thermometer, and have never tried making candy of any sort before). I doubled the recipe, didn't have marshmallow creme, and I ran out of sugar--instead using white, brown, and turbino (raw) sugar to fill the quota. Against all odds, the fudge came out absolutely delicious, with nothing to worry about! Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
It was okay, I could taste the marshmallow in it. Might be because I used real mashmallows instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States