Peanut Butter Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Rich & delicious! The peanut butter layer and chocolate icing taste like peanut butter cups. The cake was good, but somewhat overpowered by the volume and sweetness of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I have never made a cake this way before. It was kinda nice not having to drag out the mixer and all its parts. I microwaved the peanut butter and it poured right on. Then I put it in the fridge so the peanut butter would firm up. The result was a pretty and smooth layer. The fudge layer went on like a breeze!! This makes a lot of portions. (portion size should be small because it is so dense) I cut remaining pieces and wrapped them individually in saran wrap and put in a freezer bag. This way when anyone needs to get their "chocolate fix," they have a homemade goody from Mommy waiting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was a good recipe, but as others stated, it is rich. I am always looking for ways to use leftover buttermilk, and this worked out well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
WOW! I made this for a friend's birthday (he's a peanut butter freak) and EVERYONE was raving about it. It was a huge hit. You MUST like fudge to enjoy this cake. It's thick and heavy and ohhh so good. I made it just as written and it came out perfectly. I won't have a choice but to make this again, as everyone has requested it for their birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I was going to wait to review this until I had made it in the context that was intended, however, I have gotten such rave reviews, I decided to review it now. I really enjoyed making this "cake" (more like a brownie actually, the process of melting the butter and adding the cocoa powder is a technique used when making brownies from scratch, don't forget to temper the eggs, scrambled eggs and chocolate yuck!)I made a few minor changes to the initial recipe in I used 1/2C Whole Wheat flour and 1/2C oats that I had ground in the blender. It was a fairly simple dessert to make, though, it took a lot longer to bake, I will chalk that up to the fact that we were having torrential downpours that day. Well, that was all lovely and whatnot, but I got impatient and tried to flip the pan before the cake had cooled well enough.... Not a good plan.. The cake was RUINED. I am not one to let a perfectly good, if not completely decimated cake go to waste, well, I spread the peanut butter on what was left of the cake and I went to the grocery store and got some chocolate pudding and some cool whip. I came home and made a trifle with the mess, I used chocolate pudding, chocolate cool whip and plain cool whip. I took this concoction to work (I am making the Peanut Butter Fudge Cake for my family reunion this weekend) and I was told by my colleagues that this is the best thing I have ever made, and I can bring my mistakes in anytime!!! I can't wait to try the actual recipe this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meenleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
THIS IS THE BEST THING SINCE PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY.DIDN'T CHANGE A THING.CAUTION....WILL NEED A TALL GLASS OF MILK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is fudge on top of a very sweet cake, It was just too sweet overall for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I added a lot more peanut butter to the recipe. It does take a while to make, but it's worth it. My in-laws request this cake every Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I was so disappointed with this recipe. The cake was dry and the icing was super thick. It was not peanut buttery enough for us. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
The cake turned out very moist. was appreciated by my whole family. My sister couldn't believe it was homemade. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRTABU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States