Peanut Butter Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Love this cake, it tastes great! It is eaten up so quickly at my house. Only two things I've noticed is it takes longer than 25 minutes for it to cook for me and in step 2 where is says to let the mixture come to a boil...I had cooked pieces of egg in my cake, now I just let it cook for a moment longer after adding the egg instead of letting it boil and problem solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Being a lover of peanut butter and chocolate and cake, I thought it would impossible to dislike this recipe. The pictures looked delicious and well, I was starving for a good desert! And, well, I just don't like it. It's hard to pin-point exactly why. The flavors seem disjointed... It's a lot like eating peanut butter with your cake... which is really what it is. If you typically wouldn't add a big dollop of peanut butter to your devils food chocolate cake, or if the idea repels you, then DON'T make this recipe! The cake was good. I didn't really like the frosting, but the hubby did, so that makes it almost worthwhile.... and then there's the peanut butter. It just sits there. It reminds me of a PB&J sandwich. If cake and a PB&J combined into a single product doesn't appeal to you, then DON'T MAKE THIS CAKE! What a disappointment. The only things I can think of to make it better would have been to add the peanut butter to the frosting. That may have saved it. Perhaps the flavors would have integrated better. Maybe.... maybe.... I'll try it. But, really, I probably won't bother. And personally, the proportions were all wrong. Way too much peanut butter... if you do attempt, I recommend to go with only a cup of peanut butter instead of 1.5. You could easily half the frosting proportions!!!! I like frosting, but really, the frosting & peanut butter was 75% of some pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My neighbors, an elderly married couple, get free peanut butter every month through a food program for seniors. They can only use so much, & I get the extra jars. I found this recipe while looking for a way to use up all this PB, and my neighbors, my mom and I thought the finished cake was absolutely delicious; very moist and flavorful! Like another reviewer stated, my cake took longer to bake than indicated; about 40 minutes (glass 13x9 pan, and I always use an oven thermometer to verify the temp), versus the 20-25 minutes indicated in the recipe. Also, as other reviewers recommended, I microwaved the PB to liquify it for easy spreading, Finally, I put the cake in the fridge for a while after PB was applied to allow it to harden. This made for easy spreading of the frosting. Pay no attention to this recipe's detractors...it IS spectacular and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Made this last night. It was nothing special. Next time I will make a boxed cake and add a layer af peanut butter and make the iceing part of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My family raved .... loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanchesspiece
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is a pretty good cake, very rich, very sweet. I added PB chips to the cake batter because I didn't think there was enough pb. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I found this recipe so easy and incredibly delicious! Got so many compliments on it. Couldn't have been happier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Yum! This was so good! I did stir 3/4 of a cup of peanut butter chips in the warm batter, so they were slightly melted. This way they weren't hard little chips, just sort of soft and marbled. I warmed the peanut butter a bit and spread a very thin layer on top and quickly spooned on the chocolate frosting and it spread easily over the peanut butter. Thank you marbalet for a quick, easy, home-made and delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this several times and each time its better then the last my mother loves it she asks for it all the time and its gone in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Tastes better the next day or after it has set for hours for the flavors to mesh. I was worried about the consistency of the frosting at first, but adding a bit more of the buttermilk, it worked out fine. Don't make the same mistake I did by getting natural peanut butter that you have to stir and refrigerate. Otherwise it turned out well, the cake was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States